BASE

BASE logo
Business Academic Success & Excellence
Joseph Greene Hall, Room 102
Hattiesburg, MS
601.266.6139      

base@usm.edu   

www.facebook.com/COBBASE 

www.cobcornerstone.wordpress.com

Hours:

Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The BASE Center offers the following services: Private, group and General Study space; Tutoring; Writing Assistance; Public Speaking Assistance; and the BASE center serves as an Eagle Landing location.

Private, Group and General Study Space
10 study rooms (5 with computers) and a lounge are available for students to check out on a first-come first-serve basis. The rooms can be used as quiet, private study and work space for individuals or as a place for 4-6 students to hold meetings or study groups. A conference room is also available in the main center for general student use, which includes an additional computer.


Tutoring
Tutors are available for accounting, operations management, business statistics, and finance courses. The tutoring hours are as follows, but are subject to change:

Accounting (Graduate Student Tutor)
Monday/Wednesday: 12:30-5
Tuesday/Thursday: 12:30-3:30
Friday: 12-5

Accounting (Beta Alpha Psi)
Tuesday: 3-5
Wednesday: 9:30-10:30 and 11:30-1:30

Operations Management
Monday: 2-4:30
Wednesday: 2-4:30
Thursday: 1-6

Finance/Business Statistics
Monday: 11-12 and 1-6
Tuesday: 11-12 and 1-6
Thursday: 11-12 and 1-6


Writing Assistance
Writing assistance is available for BUSINESS CLASSES ONLY. Tutors can help students at any stage of the writing process, from brainstorming to proofreading. Sessions typically range from 30-45 minutes and are available by appointment only. To schedule an appointment, please call 601-266-6139 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            601-266-6139      end_of_the_skype_highlighting or come by the BASE Center.

To receive writing assistance for non-business courses, please schedule an appointment with the Southern Miss Writing Center by calling 601-266-4821. For more information, visit the Writing Center website at www.usm.edu/writingcenter.

Speaking Assistance
Speaking assistance is available for BUSINESS CLASSES ONLY. Students can come to the center for help developing a speech, creating a PowerPoint, or simply to practice a presentation before it is actually given. A projector is available for student use. To schedule an appointment, please call 601-266-6139 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            601-266-6139      end_of_the_skype_highlighting or come by the BASE Center.

To receive speaking assistance for non-business courses, please schedule an appointment with the Southern Miss Speaking Center by calling 601-266-4965 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            601-266-4965      end_of_the_skype_highlighting. For more information, visit the Speaking Center website at www.usm.edu/speakingcenter.

Eagle Landing
The BASE Center has been designated as one of four Eagle Landing sites on campus. An Eagle Landing is a place where students can go to ask general university questions. Each site is connected to a network of problem-solvers around campus and can address issues related to financial aid, housing, meal plans, etc…

Campus Resource Links

Admissions: www.usm.edu/admissions

Business Services: www.usm.edu/businessservices

Disability Accommodations: www.usm.edu/oda

Eagle Dining: http://www.campusdish.com/en-US/CSS/UnivSouthernMS

Financial Aid: www.usm.edu/financial-aid

First Year Experience: www.usm.edu/success/first-year-experience-fye-about-us

I-Tech: www.usm.edu/itech

Libraries: www.lib.usm.edu

Parking Management: www.usm.edu/parking

Registrar’s Office: www.usm.edu/registrar

Residence Life:  www.usm.edu/residence-life

Student Activities: www.usm.edu/union/studentactivities.php

Student Support Services: www.usm.edu/success/student-support-services

Think Center: www.usm.edu/thinkcenter

University Police: www.usm.edu/police


Vision
To be known throughout the Southern Miss campus as a successful center dedicated to helping all students, but with a specific focus on College of Business students.