Career Opportunities

There are a variety of career paths available in the fashion industry sector. Most jobs fall under design and production, marketing and merchandising, and/or media and promotions. Employment opportunities for students majoring in fashion merchandising include:

  • Merchandise Buying
  • Store Operations Management
  • Special Events Coordinating
  • Personal Shopping
  • Visual Merchandising Management
  • Fashion Journalism
  • Marketing and Consumer Research
  • Human Resource Management
  • Fashion Advertising and Promotion
  • Entrepreneurial Enterprises

 Sources of Information on Fashion Careers Include:

American Advertising Federation www.aaf.org
American Marketing Association www.marketingpower.com
ApparelNews.Net www.apparelnews.net
ApparelSearch.com www.ApparelSearch.com
Fairchild Publications www.fairchildpub.com
Fashion-411 www.fashion-411.com /  
Fashion Center www.fashioncenter.com/  
FashionCareerCenter.com www.fashioncareercenter.com/  
Fashion Group International, Inc. http://newyork.fgi.org/index.php
Fashion Institute of Technology http://www.fitnyc.edu/  
Fashion Job www.fashion-job.com/  
Fashion Jobs (by 24seven) www.fashion-jobs.biz
Fashion Net www.fashion.net/  
Infomat www.infomat.com
National Retail Federation www.nrf.com/  
Style Careers, LLC www.stylecareers.com
The Riley Guide (Click on “A-Z Index”) www.rileyguide.com