Service-Learning

The Service-Learning Seminar at The University of Southern Mississippi began in 2000 when Southern Miss, through the Center for Community and Civic Engagement (CCCE), became one of six universities across the country selected to partner with Eastern Michigan University through a grant, Fund for the Improvement for Post Secondary Education (FIPSE), to provide professional development for university faculty through academic service-learning fellowships.

The grant provided funding for faculty release time for a faculty liaison to teach a service-learning seminar each spring semester.  Since then the seminar has engaged over 90 faculty in high quality service-learning. Faculty applications are accepted and 6 faculty are chosen annually to participate in the seminar.

The seminar assist faculty in designing, developing, and executing service-learning components in their existing curriculum. Faculty undertake their own project through the seminar where CCCE staff assist them in identifying and connecting with a community partner.  

Faculty Fellows Contact List

 

Name

Email

Ann Blackwell

Ann.blackwell@usm.edu

 Mary Frances Nettles

Mary.Nettles@usm.edu

Lin-Miao Lin Agler

Lin.Agler@usm.edu

Andrea Wesley

Andrea.wesley@usm.edu

Ann Marie Kinnell

Ann.kinnell@usm.edu

John Bishop

John.B.Bishop@usm.edu 

Amy Chasteen Miller

Amy.chasteen@usm.edu

Jeanne Gillespie

Jeanne.gillespie@usm.edu

William Goggin

William.goggin@usm.edu

Richard Conville

Richard.Conville@usm.edu

Cindy Brown

Cindy.brown@usm.edu

Leah Fonder-Solano

Leah.fonder-solano@usm.edu

Jeffrey Kaufmann

Jeffrey.kaufmann@usm.edu

Susan Graham-Kresge

Susan.graham-kresge@usm.edu

Dan Drane

dan.drane@usm.edu

William Powell

William.powell@usm.edu

Rick Green

Frederick.green@usm.edu

Elizabeth Leal

Elizabeth.leal@usm.edu

Mark Miller

Mark.miller@usm.edu 

Mary Peters

Mary.peters@usm.edu

Bob Press

Bob.press@usm.edu

Douglas Chambers

Douglas.chambers@usm.edu

Bridget Hayden

Bridget.hayden@usm.edu

Linda Pierce

Linda.pierce@usm.edu

Kenneth Rhinehart

Kenneth.rhinehart@usm.edu

Eura Jung

Eura.jung@usm.edu

Shahid Karim

Shahid.Karim@usm.edu

Mark Klinedinst

M.klinedinst@mac.com

Delories Williams

Delories.Williams@usm.edu

Douglas Bristol

Douglas.bristol@usm.edu

Eric Tribunella

Eric.tribunella@usm.edu

Pat West

Patricia.West@mgcc.cc.ms.us

 

 

Nicolle Jordan

Nicolle.Jordan@usm.edu

Andrew Haley

Andrew.haley@usm.edu

Mac Alford

Mac.alford@usm.edu

Sherita Johnson

Sherita.johnson@usm.edu

Jae-Hwa Shin

Jae-hwa.shin@usm.edu

Kyeonghi Baek

Kyeonghi.Baek@usm.edu

Andrew Haley

Andrew.haley@usm.edu

Monika Gehlawat

Monika.Gehlawat@usm.edu

Carmen Carracelas-Juncal

Carmen.CarracelasJuncal@usm.edu

Gallayanee Yaoyuneyong

Gallayanee.Yaoyuneyong@usm.edu

Joby Bass

Joby@usm.edu

Gregor Kay

Gregor.kay@usm.edu

Charles Sumner

Charles.sumner@usm.edu

Kristy Halverson

Kristy.Halverson@usm.edu

Brian Gearity

Brian.Gearity@usm.edu

Bret Becton

Bret.Becton@usm.edu

Peter Pon

Peter.Pon@usm.edu

Louise Perkins

 

David Holt

David.H.Holt@usm.edu

Mary Coyne

Mary.Coyne@usm.edu

Casey Maugh

Casey.Maugh@usm.edu

Beth LaFleur

Beth.LaFleur@usm.edu

Julie Parker

Julie.parker@usm.edu

Jerry Alliston

Jerry.alliston@usm.edu

 

Barry Cumbie

Barry.cumbie@usm.edu

Tammy Greer

Tammy.greer@usm.edu

 

Susan Hart

Susan.hart@usm.edu

Lois Sumrall

Lois.sumrall@usm.edu

Bandana Kar

Bandana.kar@usm.edu

Forrest Lane

Forrest.lane@usm.edu

Sherrhonda Gibbs

SherRhonda.Gibbs@usm.edu

 

Micheal King

M.L.King@usm.edu