The Magnolia Award

A Children's Choice Award for the State of Mississippi 


Mission: To introduce the children of Mississippi to current children's literature and instill a love of reading. 

Children in grades K-12 who are students in Mississippi are eligible to participate. They will read the books and turn their votes in to their teacher, librarian, or other adult at an authorized voting site, who will then cast the votes electronically. Voting will be held in February, with winners announced at the Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival. 

Be sure to like our Facebook page and share with us the creative ways that your kids are voting!


**Voting is now open for the 2016 Magnolia Awards!**

Congrats to our 2015 winners!

• K-2: The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt
• 3-5: Tales from a Not-so-happy Heartbreaker by Rachel Renee Russell
• 6-8: Bad Girls: Sirens, Jezebels, Murderesses, Thieves, & Other Female Villains by Jane Yolen & Heidi Stemple
• 9-12: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell 

More information on the award:

Magnolia Spine Labels: 1 x 3/4" label with 1/2" margin; 100 to a sheet.  Demco Prd#14216190; Royalty free photo from  (.doc) or (PDF)

The Magnolia Award is a partnership of:

The Mississippi Children's Museum, The Mississippi Department of Education, The Mississippi Library Association, The Mississippi Library Commission, and the following divisions of the University of Southern Mississippi:

The School of Library and Information Science Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival
The School Of Curriculum, Instruction, and Special Education
and The deGrummond Children's Literature Collection

For more information contact Stacy Creel or Venetia Oglesby