Faculty and Staff

 

 

Our faculty consists of accomplished researchers and experienced teachers who are leaders in, and major contributors to, the communication discipline. We have received Southern Miss Excellence in Teaching and Excellence in Service awards; the Southern States Communication Association’s Outstanding Teacher, Distinguished Service, and Communication Theory and Gender Studies Divisions’ Outstanding Scholar awards; the Southern Regional Education Board Faculty Mentor Award, and the National Communication Association’s Golden Anniversary Monograph Award. Grants from the National Center for Food Protection and Defense, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Institutes of Health, and the Mississippi Humanities Council have funded research and other activities in our department. The faculty have produced 12 books and published more than 170 articles in dozens of books and virtually all journals sponsored by our professional associations. We have twice served as journal editors and four have been elected President of the Southern States Communication Association. You will find us to be knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and supportive.

Faculty

Wendy Atkins-Sayre (Ph.D., University of Georgia). Associate Professor and Director of the Speaking Center. Teaching and research interests focus on social movement rhetoric, feminist criticism, public controversy discourse, and rhetorical criticism. 475 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4271. wendy.atkinssayre@usm.edu. http://atkinssayre.wordpress.com

Richard L. Conville (Ph.D., Louisiana State University). Professor Emeritus. Teaching and research center on interpersonal communication, and, in particular, the role of communication in constructing relationships. He uses qualitative methods to interpret and understand conflicts between adults' personal and professional lives and dilemmas encountered in interracial communication. 471 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4272. richard.conville@usm.edu

Keith V. Erickson (Ed.D., University of Michigan). Professor. Teaching and research interests include presidential and political communication, and rhetorical theory and criticism. Recent studies include first lady diplomacy, rhetoric of seduction, presidential photo opportunities, travel, and news leaks. 477 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4273. keith.erickson@usm.edu

Lawrence A. Hosman (Ph.D., University of Iowa). Professor. Teaching and research focus on the role of language in social influence and persuasion, with particular attention to how messages can be constructed to better influence attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors of audiences. 478 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4279. lawrence.hosman@usm.edu. http://ocean.otr.usm.edu/~w305727/

Eura Jung (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University). Associate Professor. Research and teaching interests include intercultural communication, interpersonal communication, quantitative research methods, and identity and mental health issues. 472 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4276. eura.jung@usm.edu

Casey Malone Maugh (Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University). Assistant Professor. Research interests include political rhetoric and women's studies. Teaches and administers the Speaking Center on the Gulf Coast campus. 228.214.3309. casey.maugh@usm.edu

John C. Meyer (Ph.D., University of Kansas). Professor. Teaches and researches organizational communication, conflict management, and humor. Currently studying how children’s communication strategies in day care centers enact organizational values. 470 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4280. john.meyer@usm.edu http://ocean.otr.usm.edu/~w305698/

Susan A. Siltanen (Ph.D., Ohio State University). Dean, Graduate School. Professor. Teaches courses in persuasion, freedom of speech, content analysis, communication theory, and gender studies. Research focuses on powerful and powerless speech styles, metaphor theory, and persuasive effects of metaphor. Graduate Studies, 211 McCain Library and Archives. 601.266.4369. susan.siltanen@usm.edu

Charles H. Tardy (Ph.D., University of Iowa). Department Chair. Professor. Teaches courses on interpersonal communication, nonverbal communication, intercultural communication and research methods. Research interests center on how social interaction affects health and illness, especially cardiovascular diseases. 474 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4278. charles.tardy@usm.edu

Steven J. Venette (Ph.D., North Dakota State University). Associate Professor. Teaching and research interests include risk and crisis communication, organizational communication, and argumentation. Recent projects include work for the Department of Homeland Security's National Center for Food Protection and Defense, the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, USDA Plant Protection and Quarantine, and USDA Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service. 475 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4325 . steven.venette@usm.edu

Jefferson Walker (Ph.D., University of Alabama). Visiting Instructor. Teaching and research interests include public memory, political rhetoric, social movement discourse, and rhetoricaJ University of Southern Mississippi. 471 Liberal Arts Building.  601-266-4965. Jefferson.walker@usm.edu.

Frankie Glennis-Watts (J.D., University of Mississippi).  Visiting Instructor and Director of Forensics.  Coaches NPDA, IPDA, and WUDC debate as well as individual events.  471 Liberal Arts Building.  601-266-4272

 

Graduate Assistants

Carl Brown (M.A., East Tennesse State University).  Speaking Center, 117 Cook Library. 601.266.4965.  carl.brown@eagles.usm.edu

Coleen Mestayer (M.S., University of Louisiana at Lafayette). 445 Liberal Arts Buiding. 601.266.4987. colleen.mestayer@eagles.usm.edu

Angela McGowan (M.A., University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee).  446 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4987. angela.mcgowan@eagles.usm.edu

Lindsey Webb (M.S., Mississippi College).  446 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4987. lindsey.webb@eagles.usm.edu

Elizabeth Wellings (M.A. Texas State University). 445 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4987. elizabeth.wellings@eagles.usm.edu

Carrie Reif (M.A. Auburn University). 445 Liberal Arts Building. 601-266-4987carrie.reif@eagles.usm.edu

Brian Perna (M.A. New Mexico State University). 446 Liberal Arts Building 601-266-4271brian.perna@eagles.usm.edu

Amanda S. Cline (M.A. Angelo State University). 445 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4987 amanda.s.cline@eagles.usm.edu

Nicole Magee (B.A., University of Southern Mississippi). Speaking Center, 117 Cook Library. 601.266.4965. nicole.magee@eagles.usm.edu

Michael Chancellor (B.S., William Carey University). 467 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4271. michael.w.chancellor@eagles.usm.edu

Adjunct and Part-time Instructors

Kara Kimbrough (M.S., University of Southern Mississippi). 601.266.4965. kkprco@yahoo.com

Melody Tate (M.S., University of Southern Mississippi). 601.266.4965. mghtate@hotmail.com

Kimberly Wingo (M.S., University of Southern Mississippi). 601.266.4965. kimberly.wingo@usm.edu

 

Staff

Mary Jo McKay (B.S., University of Southern Mississippi). Administrative Assistant. 467 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4271. maryjo.mckay@usm.edu