Mississippi Humanities Council
Mississippi Department of Archives and History

Howard University
Moorland-Springarn Research Center
Manuscript Division

Mailing Address: 500 Howard Place, NW
Howard University
Washington, DC 22059
Contact person/title: Joellen El Bashir, curator of manuscripts
Telephone: 202-806-7480
Fax number: 202-806-6405
Web site:
Hours: By appointment. Monday-Friday, 9:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m.; 2:00 p.m.-4:30 p.m.
Services/Restrictions: The center is open to serious researchers and scholars by appointment only, Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., and 2:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Photocopying services are available.


Finding aids to the collections include a card catalog and an annotated bibliography of all holdings (with names of interviewees, subject listings, and an index). In addition a partial listing is included in Bibliographic Holdings of the Civil Rights Documentation Project, Vincent J. Browne and Norma O. Leonard, eds. (Washington: 1974).

Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection

This collection began in 1967 as the Civil Rights Documentation Project. Its purpose was to document the experiences and opinions of participants in various facets of the civil rights movement of the late 1950s and 1960s throughout the United States. The focus was on people who were involved in significant local and national events.

This is an ongoing project. Currently, there are about 750 tapes in the collection. Of these, 44     interviews relate to the civil rights movement in Mississippi.

Sidney Alexander Patricia Cowan Amzie Moore
Unita Blackwell Annie Devine John O'Neal
Mary C. Booth Myrlie Evers George Raymond
Harry Bowie Fannie Lou Hamer Will Henry Rogers Jr.
Travis Britt Aaron Henry Emma Sanders
Lela Brooks Theodore Henry Henry Sias
Owen Brooks John Hulett Lou Smith
Otis Brown Jr. Eunice Jenkins Melvin Smith
R. Jess Brown Linda Jenkins Robert L.T. Smith
John Buffington Margaret Kibbitt Matteo Suarez
Collin Carew Annie Maire King William Wallace
Hodding Carter III Mary Lane Hollis Watkins
Robert G. Clark Fred Mangrum Robert E. Wright
Douglas M. Cotton Silas McGhee Jack Young
Gus Courts James Meredith

This page created by Instructional Media Unit Webteam, and maintained by Charles Bolton.
The University of Southern Mississippi
http://www.usm.edu/crdp | Last updated
03 February 1:37 PM AA/EOE/ADAI