Licensure Programs

Southern Miss offers initial teacher licensure programs at the traditional undergraduate level, alternate-route certificate level, or alternate-route graduate level. We also offer advanced licensure programs and programs for other school professionals at the graduate level. Below you can find websites and contact information for all our educator preparation programs.

Traditional Route Undergraduate Initial Teacher Licensure Preparation Programs

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact for Hattiesburg: Dr. Sheila Hendry (sheila.hendry@usm.edu)

-Contact for Gulf Park: Jill Arnold (jill.arnold@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park 

-SPA National Recognition by: National Science Teachers Association  

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Deborah Booth (deborah.booth@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: National Science Teachers Association

-Grade Levels: 9-12

-Contact: Dr. Chris Sirola (christopher.sirola@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: National Science Teachers Association

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact for Hattiesburg: Mary Peters (mary.peters@usm.edu)

-Contact for Gulf Park: Marlene Naquin (marlene.naquin@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition by: National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Nancy Speed (nancy.speed@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg 

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Nancy Speed (nancy.speed@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Diane Fisher (diane.fisher@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Hollie Filce (hollie.filce@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-SPA National Recognition by: Council for Exceptional Children

-Grade Levels: K-6

-Contact: Dr. Beth Richmond (beth.richmond@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition by: Association for Childhood Education International

-Grade Levels: K-6

-Contact: Patti Papania (patti.papania@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-SPA National Recognition by: Association for Childhood Education International

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Beth Richmond (beth.richmond@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition by: Association for Childhood Educational International and Council for Exceptional Children

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Marietta Paterson (marietta.paterson@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: Council on Education of the Deaf

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Monika Gehlawat (monika.gehlawat@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition by: National Council of Teachers of English

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Leah Fonder-Solano (leah.fonder-solano@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: American Council on Teaching of Foreign Languages

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Joanne Burnett (joanne.burnett@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: American Council on Teaching of Foreign Languages

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Mary Beth Farrell (mary.farrell@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition by: National Council for the Social Studies

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Julie White (julie.h.white@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Dance

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Mandi Schlegel (amanda.schlegel@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Mandi Schlegel (amanda.schlegel@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music

Alternate Route Initial Teacher Licensure Preparation Programs

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Marsha Walters (marsha.walters@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg 

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Marsha Walters (marsha.walters@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Marsha Walters (marsha.walters@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park 

Advanced Graduate Degree Teacher Preparation Programs 

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Monika Gehlawat (monika.gehlawat@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

  • MS Science Education (Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Environmental, Mathematics, or Physics Licensure)

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Sherry Herron (sherry.herron@usm.edu

-Location of Program offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact:Dr. Nancy Speed (nancy.speed@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: K-6

-Contact: Dr. Beth Richmond (beth.richmond@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-SPA National Recognition by: International Reading Association (IRA)

-Grade Levels:

-Contact: Dr. Maureen Martin (maureen.martin@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: 

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Ravic Ringlaben (ravic.ringlaben@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-SPA National Recognition by: International Reading Association (IRA)

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Mandi Schlegel (amanda.schlegel@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music 

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Sherry Herron (sherry.herron@usm.edu

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Mandi Schlegel (amanda.schlegel@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music

Advanced Educator Preparation Programs for Other School Professionals

-Grade Levels: Childbirth through Kindergarten

-Contact: Dr. Marietta Paterson (marietta.paterson@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Liz Haynes (dorothy.haynes@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-Accredited by: American Library Association

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Thelma Roberson (thelma.roberson@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-SPA National Recognition by: Educational Leadership Constituent Council

-Grade Levels: 

-Contact: Dr. Ursula Whitehead (ursula.whitehead@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: K-6

-Contact: Dr. Beth Richmond (beth.richmond@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Ravic Ringlaben (ravic.ringlaben@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: P-12

-Contact: Dr. Thelma Roberson (thelma.roberson@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: Educational Leadership Constituent Council

-Grade Levels: P-12

-Contact: Dr. Thelma Roberson (thelma.roberson@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: Educational Leadership Constituent Council

-Grade Levels: K-6

-Contact: Dr. Beth Richmond (beth.richmond@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Ravic Ringlaben (ravic.ringlaben@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg 

-Grade Levels: P-12

-Contact: Dr. Thelma Roberson (thelma.roberson@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: Educational Leadership Constituent Council

-Grade Levels:

-Contact: Dr. Daniel Tingstrom (daniel.tingstrom@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: American Psychological Association