The Scholars

The Scholars, an initiative from the College of Education and Psychology Dean’s Office, is a select group of undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in programs in the College of Education and Psychology at The University of Southern Mississippi.  These students serve as ambassadors for the College, and they also serve as important representatives for our students in terms of communicating issues and concerns with the Dean’s office.

Students chosen as Scholars must meet certain criteria and are selected by a faculty committee.  Faculty may click here to obtain eligibility requirements. There are many benefits to becoming one of the Scholars, including working closely with faculty and staff of the College as well as developing communication and leadership skills.

Scholars Academic Year 2013-2014

Department of Child and Family Studies

Department of Curriculum, Instruction, and Special Education

Department of Educational Leadership and School Counseling

Department of Educational Studies and Research

School of Library and Information Science

Department of Psychology


  • President – Harry Wadsworth
  • President-Elect – Christina Gladney
  • Secretary – Anna Claire Burns
  • Social Media Chair – Cari Clabaugh