Meet Our Staff

 

Karen S. Coats, Ph.D.
Dean
The University of Southern Mississippi
Graduate School
118 College Drive #5024
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
Phone: 601-266-4262
Fax: 601-266-5138
Karen.Coats@usm.edu
Carolyn J. Cawthon, M.Ed.
Director of Graduate Operations & Recruitment
The University of Southern Mississippi
Graduate School
118 College Drive #5024
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
Phone: 601-266-4793
Fax: 601-266-5138
Carolyn.Cawthon@usm.edu

Desira L. Bailey
Administrative Assistant
The University of Southern Mississippi
Graduate School
118 College Drive #5024
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
Phone: 601-266-4262
Fax: 601-266-5138
Desira.L.Bailey@usm.edu

Areas of Responsibility: Administrative Assistant to the Dean, Graduate Council, and Faculty Credentials

 

Jackie M. Gargiulo
Accountant
The University of Southern Mississippi
Graduate School
118 College Drive #5024
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
Phone: 601-266-4733
Fax: 601-266-5138
Jackie.Gargiulo@usm.edu

Area of Responsibility: Graduate School Budgets and Graduate Assistantships

 

Sue Fayard
Graduate Tracking Specialist/Degree Auditor
The University of Southern Mississippi
Graduate School
118 College Drive #5024
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
Phone: 601-266-5136
Fax: 601-266-5138
Sue.Fayard@usm.edu

Areas of Responsibility: Progress to Degree for studentsin the Colleges of Arts & Letters and Education & Pscyhology

 

Sharon Pool
Degree Auditor
The University of Southern Mississippi
Graduate School
118 College Drive #5024
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
Phone: 601-266-4181
Fax: 601-266-5138
Sharon.Pool@usm.edu

Areas of Responsibility: Progress to Degree for students in the Colleges of Business, Health, Nursing, and Science & Technology

 

Jeanne Stewart
Reviewer: Dissertations, Nursing Capstone Projects, and Theses
The University of Southern Mississippi
Graduate School
118 College Drive #5024
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
Phone: 601-266-4372
Fax: 601-266-5138
Jeanne.Stewart@usm.edu

Areas of Responsibility: Reviews all theses, dissertations, nursing capstone projects and projects for graduate students

 

Michelle Templeton
Manager of Graduate Admissions
The University of Southern Mississippi
Graduate School
118 College Drive #5024
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
Phone: 601-266-6567
Fax: 601-266-5138
Deborah.Templeton@usm.edu

Area of Responsibility: Admissions & Certificate processes for the Colleges of Business, Nursing, and Education & Psychology

Process all Non-Degree Applications

 

Emily Lymon
Sr. Graduate Admissions Specialist
The University of Southern Mississippi
Graduate School
118 College Drive #5024
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
Phone: 601-266-5137
Fax: 601-266-5138
Emily.Lymon@usm.edu

Area of Responsibility: Admissions & Certificate processes for the Colleges of Arts & Letters, Health, and Science & Technology. Responible for processing all Readmission Applications.

 

Tracy Barnhill
Admissions & Enrollment Software Manager- System Analyst
The University of Southern Mississippi
Graduate School
118 College Drive #5024
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
Phone: 601-266-5908
Fax: 601-266-5138
Tracy.Barnhill@usm.edu

Areas of Responsibility: Maintains Graduate School Social Media, maintains Graduate School PeopleSoft processes, and maintains AdmissionPros setup.