Faculty Profiles and Contact Information

Links are to web pages maintained independently by the relevant faculty. You can find a list of retired and emeritus faculty here.

Office of the Chair

  • Bernd Schroeder, Professor and Chair
    Office: SH 319B, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4289, email: bernd.schroeder@usm.edu
    discrete mathematics
  • Lisa Mims, Administrative Assistant
    Office: SH 319D, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4289, email: l.mims@usm.edu
  • Jennifer Jones, Office Manager
    Office: Gulf Coast Campus, Science Building 209A, Phone: 225·865·4507 

Research and Graduate faculty

  • CS Chen, Professor
    Office: SH 317D, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4290, email: cs.chen@usm.edu
    radial basis functions, meshless methods, numerical PDEs
  • Jiu Ding, Professor
    Office: SH 312, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4291, email: jiu.ding@usm.edu
    computational Ergodic theory, optimization, linear algebra, perturbation theory
  • John Harris, Associate Professor
    Office: Hardy 341, Phone: 228⋅214⋅3293, email: john.m.harris@usm.edu
    knot-theoretical algebraic topology
  • William Hornor, Professor
    Office: SH 314, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4300, email: william.hornor@usm.edu
    complex analysis, operator theory, functional analysis
  • Karen Kohl, Assistant Professor
    Office: Hardy 342, Phone: 228⋅214⋅3329, email: karen.kohl@usm.edu
    symbolic integration
  • James Lambers, Associate Professor, Graduate Program Director
    Office: SH 301A, Phone: 601⋅266⋅5784, email: james.lambers@usm.edu
    numerical methods for PDEs, numerical linear algebra
  • Sungwook Lee, Associate Professor
    Office:  SH 306, Phone: 601·266·4299, email: sunglee@usm.edu
    applied mathematics (theoretical physics)
  • Jeremy Lyle, Assistant Professor, Math Zone Director
    Office in the Math Zone: 601⋅266⋅5058
    Office in Southern Hall: SH 308, Phone: 601⋅266⋅6297, email: samuel.lyle@usm.edu
    discrete mathematics, graph theory
  • Lawrence Mead (joint appointment with Physics), Professor
    Office: TEC 229-A, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4937, email: lawrence.mead@usm.edu
    many-body theory, field theory, mathematical physics
  • Rejoice Mudzimiri, Assistant Professor
    Office: SH 201A, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4303, email: rejoice.mudzimiri@usm.edu
    mathematics education
  • John Perry, Associate Professor, Undergraduate Program Director
    Office: SH 317C, Phone: 601⋅266⋅5505, email: john.perry@usm.edu
    algebra, linear algebra, computational algebra
  • Susan Ross, Assistant Professor
    Office: SH 201A, Phone: 601⋅266⋅6257, email: susan.ross@usm.edu
    mathematics education
  • Haiyan Tian, Associate Professor
    Office: SH 316, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4292, email: haiyan.tian@usm.edu
    partial differential equations
  • Chenhua Zhang, Assistant Professor
    Office: SH 310, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4293, email: chenhua.zhang@usm.edu
    probability and statistics, risk theory
  • Huiqing Zhu, Assistant Professor
    Office: SH 307, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4297, email: huiqing.zhu@usm.edu
    numerical methods for PDEs, numerical analysis

Instructors

  • Lue Bell
    Office: Math Zone, Phone: 601⋅266⋅5370, email: lue.bell@usm.edu
  • Mary Bullock
    Office: Math Zone, Phone: 601⋅266⋅5613, email: mary.bullock@usm.edu
  • Susan Howell
    Office: SH 203, Phone: 601⋅266⋅4304, email: susan.howell@usm.edu
  • Marlene Naquin, Gulf Coast Math Lab Coordinator, University Supervisor (Seconday Math Licensure)
    Office: Hardy 344, Phone: 228⋅214⋅3298, email: marlene.naquin@usm.edu
  • Mary Peters, Student Teacher Supervisor
    Office: SH 201B, Phone: 601⋅266⋅6657, email: mary.peters@usm.edu
  • Corwin Stanford, Math Zone Coordinator
    Office: Math Zone, Phone: 601⋅266⋅5768, email: corwin.stanford@usm.edu

Visiting Faculty

Teaching Assistants

Adjunt Faculty

  • Alvin Black
    email: alvin.black@hii-ingalls.com
    introductory mathematics
  • Eowyn Cenek
    introductory mathematics
  • Jan Davis
    Office: SH 203, Phone: 601·266·5768 
  • Kathleen Dudenbostel
    email: Kathleen.Dudenbostel@usm.edu
    mathematics education, introductory mathematics
  • John Dudley
    discrete mathematics