Southern Miss Public relations & Marketing Department Home    



Department Home | Contact | Back


Press Releases

Bookmark Us
Print this Page Print Page
American Legion Auxiliary Girls State Delegates Elect Officers PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, June 10, 2010
Contact David Tisdale, 601.266.4499   

Delegates to the 63rd session of the American Legion Auxiliary Girls State chose officers during elections this week on The University of Southern Mississippi Hattiesburg campus. The delegates, high school students between their junior and senior years, have spent the week learning about the mechanics of democracy by participating in simulated campaigns, elections and legislative processes that emulate all levels of government in Mississippi, from the local level to executive branch in the fictitious state of “Magnolia.”
American Legion Auxiliary Girls State officers elected during the program’s 63rd session at The University of Southern Mississippi include, from left, Bethany Pickering of Collins, Secretary of State; Bridgett Andrews of Hattiesburg, State Treasurer; Hannah Saucier of Pascagoula, State Auditor; Morgan Lynn Wilson of Pontotoc, Attorney General; Victoria Jones of Petal, Governor; Nicolet Hopper of Petal, Lieutenant Governor; Sarah DeLee of McComb, Commissioner of Agriculture; Rayanna Mitchell of Hatley, Assistant to the Governor; and Elizabeth Winton, Commissioner of Insurance.

About The University of Southern Mississippi
The University of Southern Mississippi, founded in 1910, is a comprehensive doctoral and research-extensive university fulfilling its mission of being a leading university in engaging and empowering individuals to transform lives and communities.  In a tradition of leadership for student development, Southern Miss is educating a 21st century work force providing intellectual capital, cultural enrichment and innovation to Mississippi and the world.  Southern Miss is located in Hattiesburg, Miss., with an additional campus and teaching and research sites on the Mississippi Gulf Coast; further information is found at
< Prev   Next >

Department Home | Contact | Back


Copyright 2006, The University of Southern Mississippi