Southern Miss Public relations & Marketing Department Home    



Department Home | Contact | Back


Press Releases

Bookmark Us
Print this Page Print Page
College of Business Honors Students, Faculty at Annual Awards Banquet PDF Print E-mail
Friday, April 16, 2010
Contact Van Arnold, 601.266.5568   

Dr. Charles Jordan, accounting professor at The University of Southern Mississippi, says preparation is the key to successful teaching at the collegiate level.

For his efforts in the classroom and beyond, Jordan received the 2010 Joseph A. Greene Excellence in Teaching Award during the College of Business’ annual awards banquet held March 31 at the Thad Cochran Center.

“As a student my favorite teachers were those who were always prepared for class and through their organized presentations were able to enhance my understanding of the material,” said Jordan. “As a teacher I try to emulate these qualities by devoting significant time to my classroom preparation, which hopefully leads to clear, organized lectures that help my students learn.”

Jordan, who has been a member of the Southern Miss faculty for 22 years, specializes in financial accounting. He takes particular pride in being singled out among the highly skilled colleagues within the College of Business.

“In my opinion, teaching and helping others learn is perhaps the most noble of all professions,” said Jordan. “To be recognized for my contributions in this important endeavor represents the high point of my career.”

Payton Pool, a master’s of business administration student set to graduate in August, received the prestigious Dean’s Excellence Award. Pool, who already owns a doctorate in polymer science from Southern Miss (1996), is a Denham Springs, La., native.

College of Business award winners included the following:


Accounting Faculty Awards: Joseph Cieglo, Ashley Henley, Jabe Mills, Alison Lombardo, Amy Smith, Holly Grames, Kevin Dyess

Beta Alpha Psi Award: Alison Lombardo, Breanne Hancock

Haddox Ried Burkes and Calhoun Award: Analise Counts

*Jarvis Maxey Outstanding Intermediate Award: Cheryl Johnston

*Frederick D. Kenamond Accounting Theory Award: Caitlyn Shehan

Mississippi Society of Certified Public Accountants: Lori Knight

Becker CPA Review 50 Percent Scholarship: Andrea Harbison

Economics/Management Information Systems

Atley Graham Memorial Scholarship: Zachary Ryan Mansell

C. Caruthers Sullivan Jr. Memorial Scholarship: Zachary Ryan Mansell

Economics Faculty Award: Zachary Ryan Mansell

Omicron Delta Epsilon Award: John Russell Cobb, Chase Tyler Winters

Wall Street Journal Award – Economics: Rachel Elizabeth Crawford, Robert L. Deming

Management Information Systems Outstanding Student Award: Michael Todd Johnston


Banking and Finance Award: Amber Nicole Graham

Finance Faculty Award: Jennifer Ashlee Wilson

Wall Street Journal Award – Finance: Caroline Marie Randolph

Parham Bridges Real Estate Award: Lori Jo Patton

Outstanding Finance Student Award: Sean Peters

Management/International Business

Martin Stegenga Academic Award in Management: Jacob A. Hamilton

Stanley A. Brooking Memorial Award in Management: Gabrielle L. Phillips

Outstanding International Business Student Award: C. Annah Freeman

Marketing/Fashion Merchandising

Outstanding Student in Sales Award: Joshua Wolfe

Marketing Innovative and Creativity Award: Danielle Poetter

Mississippi Power Company & Marketing Faculty Award: Jordan Holder

David E. Ford Marketing Leadership Award: Avery Fulp, Stephanie Dellocono

Most Promising Professional: Marcel Dinkins

Outstanding Senior in Fashion Merchandising: Jessica Villarreal

Passion for Fashion: Marcel Dinkins, Valerie Warrington

Tourism Management

Hospitality & Tourism Management Senior Scholar: Emily Adams, Rachel Bruff, Noel Spratley, Elaina Spradley

Spirit of Hospitality Award: Rick Fitzsimmons


Outstanding Graduate Student Award: Matthew Stambaugh

Master of Business Administration Award for Excellence: Andrew David Powell

Federation of Schools of Accountancy Outstanding Master of Profession: Andrea Harbison

College and Faculty

Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key Awards: Jordan Holder, Joseph Cieglo, Annah Freeman, Jessica Villarreal

Dean’s Excellence Award: Payton Pool

Joseph A. Greene Excellence in Teaching Award: Charles Jordan

Charles Jordan

About The University of Southern Mississippi
The University of Southern Mississippi, founded in 1910, is a comprehensive doctoral and research-extensive university fulfilling its mission of being a leading university in engaging and empowering individuals to transform lives and communities.  In a tradition of leadership for student development, Southern Miss is educating a 21st century work force providing intellectual capital, cultural enrichment and innovation to Mississippi and the world.  Southern Miss is located in Hattiesburg, Miss., with an additional campus and teaching and research sites on the Mississippi Gulf Coast; further information is found at
< Prev   Next >

Department Home | Contact | Back


Copyright 2006, The University of Southern Mississippi