Southern Miss Public relations & Marketing Department Home    



Department Home | Contact | Back


Press Releases

Bookmark Us
Print this Page Print Page
Southern Miss Announces 2009-2010 Gulf Coast Faculty Council Representatives PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, August 25, 2009
Contact Charmaine Williams Schmermund - 228.865.4573   

The University of Southern Mississippi 2009-2010 Gulf Coast Faculty Council is ready to take on the task of representing more than 200 faculty members on the Gulf Coast.

The Faculty Council provides both a forum and a voice for faculty who work at the Southern Miss Gulf Coast campus and teaching sites.

“I am pleased and honored to serve Southern Miss in this role,” said President Heather Annulis. “It is an important time in Southern Miss history and our council will work diligently to offer solutions to improve our university community.”

Gulf Coast Faculty Council includes:

• President Heather Annulis, associate professor of workforce training and development
• Secretary Marlene Naquin, instructor of mathematics
• College of Arts and Letters representatives Jack Covarrubias, assistant professor of political science, and Elaine White, associate professor of English
• College of Business representatives Steve Jackson, associate professor of accountancy, and Dale Lunsford, assistant professor of information systems 
• College of Education and Psychology representatives Janet Nelson, associate professor of special education, and Jennifer Vonk, assistant professor of psychology
• College of Health representatives Cynthia Chatham, associate professor of nursing, and Tom Osowski, assistant professor of social work
• College of Science and Technology representatives Jerry Coleman, instructor of geography, and Marlene Naquin
• Gulf Coast Research Laboratory in Ocean Springs representative Patrick Biber, assistant professor of coastal sciences
• Department of Marine Science at John C. Stennis Space Center representative Scott P. Milroy, assistant professor of marine science
• University Libraries for the Gulf Coast representative Allisa Beck, collection management librarian
• Heather Annulis, Dale Lunsford, Doug Bristol, associate professor of history, and Ray Scurfield, professor of social work, to serve as Gulf Coast Faculty Senators
• Faculty Senate President Jeff Evans to serve as Ex-Officio

About The University of Southern Mississippi
The University of Southern Mississippi, founded in 1910, is a comprehensive doctoral and research-extensive university fulfilling its mission of being a leading university in engaging and empowering individuals to transform lives and communities. In a tradition of leadership for student development, Southern Miss is educating a 21st century work force providing intellectual capital, cultural enrichment and innovation to Mississippi and the world. Southern Miss is located in Hattiesburg, Miss., with an additional campus and teaching and research sites on the Mississippi Gulf Coast; further information is found at .

< Prev   Next >

Department Home | Contact | Back


Copyright 2006, The University of Southern Mississippi