marketing and public relations
click here for the news highlights
click here for all news releases
click here for contacts
click here to read our functions
click here for our home page
click here to subscribe to news by email
click here for the southern miss home page
click here for licensing

Released April 11, 2003


HATTIESBURG, Miss. -- A dozen University of Southern Mississippi students were singled out Thursday among hundreds honored during Southern Miss's annual Awards Day ceremony.

William R. Savell, who works for Scott County School System at Bettye Mae Jack Middle School in Morton, was the recipient of Southern Miss's highest student honor - the Judge R.J. Bishop "Mississippian" Award, which is given annually to a student who endures and overcomes hardships in pursuit of a Southern Miss degree. Savell graduated with a bachelor's degree in elementary education from Southern Miss in December. He overcame severe physical disabilities to earn his degree.

Tiffany Annetta Blakeslee was named the Phi Kappa Phi Silver Bowl winner as Southern Miss's top academic achiever, with a 4.0 GPA.

Amy Marie Cuevas and Derrick Nix were recognized for Best Citizen honors. Students named to the Southern Miss Hall of Fame were Kenitra LaSha Barnes, Renada Dionne Hickman-Davis, Elizabeth Reagan Francis, Blake Evan Hamm, Lindsey Katherine Jack, Jessica Lynn Neno, Holly Christine Stephan and Jason Rowland Wilson.

Students at the afternoon ceremony were recognized for receiving more than 600 awards, scholarships and other acknowledgments, including membership in selective honor societies.



This page is maintained by the Department of Marketing and Public Relations at
The University of Southern Mississippi at

Comments and suggestions are welcome; direct them to
URL for this page is
February 26, 2004 1:23 PM