marketing and public relations
click here for the news highlights
click here for all news releases
click here for contacts
click here to read our functions
click here for the experts guide
click here for our home page
click here to subscribe to news by email
click here for the southern miss home page
click here for licensing
style guide
graphics standards
Released August 28, 2003


HATTIESBURG - Two years to the date after the attack on the World Trade Center in New York City by terrorists, the School of Music at The University of Southern Mississippi will present its first Camerata Concert of the 2003-04 season as a commemoration to the victims.

"Some of the music for our Sept. 11 concert was chosen because it was composed as memorial music," said Michael Kimber, professor of viola at Southern Miss. "Other featured music on the program was chosen for its ability to uplift the human spirit. We felt that a concert on this occasion needed both."

Kimber composed the concert's opening work, and it was first performed one year ago in Pontlevoy, France, by the university's own faculty ensemble, Promenade.

"This work is a lament in memory of the many thousands of innocent people who perished on September 11, 2001," Kimber said. "The terrorist attack resulted in tragedy without parallel in our history, and we cannot reflect on that day of atrocity and destruction without feelings of horror, shock, and bewilderment."

Southern Miss voice professor Kimberley Davis will sing the profound "Pie Jesu" from Gabriel Fauré's Requiem. Davis hailed the work "as some of Fauré's most sublime music." She also will sing the jubilant "Laudate Dominum" from W. A. Mozart's Vespere solennis.

"Fauré intentionally wrote his Requiem without drama or a sense of mourning," Davis explained. "He believed that death was about a 'happy deliverance, a yearning for the joys of the afterlife,' rather than a painful passing away. The sublime, melodious nature of this music truly mirrors his heart."

Pianist and music professor Dana Ragsdale will perform two solo works for harpsichord, her instrument of specialty. The first piece, by the 17th-century German-born Johann Jakob Froberger, is a lament "for the sad loss of his royal majesty Ferdinand IV," according to Ragsdale. The second is a tombeau, or monument, to memorialize the dead lutenist Blancrocher by 17th-century French composer Louis Couperin.

"Couperin, like all the leading 17th-century composers, contributed to the repertoire of tombeaux, or musical monuments," Ragsdale said.

The concert will conclude with a brilliant Concerto in C major by Tomaso Albinoni. Soloists for this work include faculty-artists Joel Treybig on trumpet, Patricia Malone on oboe and John Bivins on bassoon.

The concert will begin at 7:30 p.m. in Marsh Auditorium. Tickets are $8 general admission and $5 for students, Southern Miss faculty and staff and senior citizens. For tickets, call the Southern Miss Ticket Office at (601) 266-5418 or 800-844-8425. Order online at Proceeds from Camerata ticket sales benefit the School of Music scholarship funds.


to the top


This page is maintained by the Department of Marketing and Public Relations at
The University of Southern Mississippi at
Comments and suggestions are welcome; direct them to
URL for this page is
April 20, 2004 4:09 PM