marketing and public relations
click here for the news highlights
click here for all news releases
click here for contacts
click here to read our functions
click here for the experts guide
click here for our home page
click here to subscribe to news by email
click here for the southern miss home page
click here for licensing
style guide
graphics standards
Released August 17, 2004


HATTIESBURG -- Dr. Jay Grimes has been named interim provost and vice president for academic affairs for The University of Southern Mississippi's dual campuses and seven teaching and research sites by university president Dr. Shelby Thames.

"Dr. Grimes has now served as provost on both the Hattiesburg campus and the Gulf Coast campus and knows the academic inner workings of the university," Thames said. "I appreciate Jay's willingness to increase his workload while we are undertaking this national search for a provost."

Grimes was named provost of the Hattiesburg campus in July 2002 by Thames. Prior to this position, Grimes was appointed dean of the Institute of Marine Sciences in 1997, which became the College of Marine Sciences in 2001. He is also a professor of coastal sciences at The University of Southern Mississippi and serves as director of the university's Gulf Coast Research Laboratory. In July 2001, Grimes returned to the Gulf Coast as provost of the Gulf Park campus and the other Gulf Coast teaching and research sites.

Grimes received his doctorate in microbiology from Colorado State University in 1971. He received a bachelor's degree and master's degree in biology from Drake University in 1966 and 1968, respectively.

"Faculty members from all of our sites know me, and most have worked with me over the last two years, which I believe will facilitate a seamless transition in continuing the academic operations of Southern Miss," Grimes said. "I welcome this opportunity and know it will be a big undertaking. I enjoy working with all of the deans and will look to them for their valuable input and assistance with the administration of academic policy, procedures and operations."

A national search for the position of provost will be conducted. Dr. Joseph Paul will serve as chair of the committee. "This is an important position for our university," Paul said. "I am confident that we will facilitate a process that is inclusive, thorough and yields the right academic leader for our university."

The following individuals are being asked to serve on the committee: Dr. David Beckett, associate professor of biology and Faculty Senate president; Dr. Joe Whitehead, associate professor of physics and astronomy and assistant dean of the College of Science and Technology; Dr. Desmond Fletcher, associate professor in the School of Engineering Technology; Dr. Charles McCormick, professor of Polymer Science; Dr. Peter Fos, dean of the College of Health; Dr. Katherine Nugent, director and associate dean of the School of Nursing; Dr. Sue Hubble, associate professor and assistant director of the Department of Human Performance and Recreation; Dr. Alvin Williams, chair and professor of marketing and management; Dr. Jon Carr, assistant professor of marketing and management; Dr. Gwen Pate, associate professor in the School of Accountancy and Information Systems; Dr. Chuck Bolton, professor/chair of history and co-director of the Center for Oral History and Cultural Heritage; Dr. Martina Sciolino, associate professor of English; Dr. Thomas Fraschillo, professor in the School of Music and director of University Bands; Dr. Stan Kuczaj, chair and professor of psychology; Dr. Ann Blackwell, associate professor and chair of family and consumer sciences; Dr. Carolyn Reeves-Kazelskis, professor of curriculum, instruction, and special education; Walt Cain, president of the Student Government Association; Karen Schulze, president of the Honors Student Association; Dr. Melanie J. Norton, director and associate professor of the School of Library and Information Sciences; Dr. Kristi Motter, director of the Office of Financial Aid and Dr. Jay Grimes, provost.


to the top


This page is maintained by the Department of Marketing and Public Relations at
The University of Southern Mississippi at
Comments and suggestions are welcome; direct them to

September 1, 2004 2:12 PM