marketing and public relations
click here for the news highlights
click here for all news releases
click here for contacts
click here to read our functions
click here for the experts guide
click here for our home page
click here to subscribe to news by email
click here for the southern miss home page
click here for licensing
style guide
graphics standards
Released June 13, 2003


HATTIESBURG -- The 56th session of the American Legion Auxiliary's Magnolia Girls State wrapped up Friday at The University of Southern Mississippi with the naming of two delegates to Girls Nation and the presentation of various awards and scholarships.

Holly Smith of Bogue Chitto and Jenna Markham of Pass Christian will represent Mississippi in mid-July in Washington. Two alternates were selected in the event that one of the delegates is unable to attend. They are Kelly Hembree of Pascagoula and Rebekah Staples of Laurel.

Girls Nation delegates are selected by senior counselors and staff following personal interviews in which they were asked about their knowledge of current events and those event's political implications, parliamentary procedure and their knowledge of the American Legion Auxiliary.

Scholarship winners for the 2001 Magnolia Girls State were announced by director Kathy Dungan. The winners and the scholarships include Meghan Diane Ainsworth of Laurel, Samsung Scholarship ($1,000); Lauren Keenum of Brandon, McCorkle/Whitten Scholarship ($500); Katie Shumpert of Tupelo, Moore/Chan Scholarship ($500); Rebekah Staples of Laurel, Southern Miss Academic Scholarship ($2,000); Shunda Nicole Bogan of Newton, Lou Wilkerson Southern Miss Housing/Meal Scholarship; and Stephanie Willis of Hattiesburg, Keet Peetz Scholarship ($500).

Outstanding Citizen awards were also presented Friday. Winners in this category included Siara Smith of Moss Point; Angela Bailey of Grenada; Elizabeth Olivet of Oxford; Carolyne Haskins of McComb; Casey Finch of West Point; Carroll Slack of Amory; Mary Darby Wall of Hattiesburg; Erin Smith of Pascagoula; Jeannette Hairston of Hattiesburg; Kaela Gartman of Perkinston; Caroline Webb of Hattiesburg; Meghan Davis of Oak Grove; Sarah Perich of Baton Rouge, La.; Nyreia Crayton of Tupelo and Jenna Markham of Pass Christian.

Moran city was chosen as the outstanding city for the Girls State session, and the girls of McCain city won the outstanding city project.

More than 300 girls participated in the session, a week of hands-on activities designed to acquaint them with the inner-workings of politics and government. The program is sponsored by the American Legion Auxiliary.


to the top


This page is maintained by the Department of Marketing and Public Relations at
The University of Southern Mississippi at
Comments and suggestions are welcome; direct them to
URL for this page is
April 20, 2004 4:09 PM