marketing and public relations
click here for the news highlights
click here for all news releases
click here for contacts
click here to read our functions
eagles eye
click here for the experts guide
click here for our home page
click here to subscribe to news by email
click here for the southern miss home page
click here for licensing
style guide
graphics standards

Released June 28, 2005



Long Beach– The University of Southern Mississippi's School of Nursing recognized more than 11 students who graduated at the May 2005 ceremony for exceptional academic performance during enrollment of the program.

Three students were awarded the National Dean's List Award, which recognizes students who are in the top 10 percent of their graduating class based on the highest overall grade point average. Recipients include Donna Bauer (Gulfport), Suzanne Bennett (Ocean Springs) and Crystal Phalp (Meridian).

Donna Bauer, Suzanne Bennett, Shannon Hoffman (Gulfport) and Crystal Phalp were all awarded the National Collegiate Nursing Award. This award is presented to students who have a GPA of 3.0 and display dependability, responsibility, citizenship, enthusiasm and leadership skills.

Suzanne Bennett also graduated summa cum laude and received the Latin Distinction Award for maintaining a 3.25 GPA and completing a scholarly paper.

The Jerri Laube Morgan Award, named in honor of the previous dean of the School of Nursing, is awarded to a student who is active in community service, has a GPA of 3.25 or greater and is a nontraditional undergraduate student. Donna Bauer received this award.

A student who demonstrates an awareness of professional/social responsibilities and leadership and makes contributions to the community through service, student organizations and class activities receives the Nursing Eagle Award. Suzanne Bennett was the recipient of this award.

Crystal Phalp received the Elizabeth C. Harkins Award for maintaining the highest nursing GPA. This award is named after Sister Elizabeth C. Harkins, founder of the nursing program.

Also, nine students were inducted and recognized for the Southern Miss chapter Sigma Theta Tau, a national honor society of nursing. The recipients were Amy Barber (Bay St. Louis), Suzanne Bennett, Jennifer Bickel (Gulfport), Kristal Cromer (Vancleave), Jessica Cummings (Collins), Kristie Evans (Waveland), Candace Nelson (Ocean Springs), Stacey Oppel (Gulfport) and Crystal Phalp.


to the top

2002 2003 2004

This page is maintained by the Department of Marketing and Public Relations at
The University of Southern Mississippi at
Comments and suggestions are welcome; direct them to

July 22, 2005 2:18 PM