Released May 6, 2003


HATTIESBURG - Seven staff members at The University of Southern Mississippi were honored with presentation of the annual staff excellence awards at a special luncheon today on the Hattiesburg campus.

The 2003 recipients of Staff Excellence Awards and corresponding categories are as follows: Susan King and Mary Sumrall, Office Personnel; Timothy Higginbotham, Service Maintenance; Alex Schesny, Skilled Craft; Russ Willis and Sue Pace, Administrative Support/Administrative Head; and Lynn McLelland, Jessie Hagler Morrison Staff Award.

King is administrative assistant in the Department of Psychology and has been with the university since 1985. Sumrall is executive secretary to Dr. Aubrey Lucas in the Office of President Emeritus and joined the Southern Miss staff in 1981.

Higginbotham is a clerk in the Physical Plant storeroom and has been employed by the university since 1984. Schesny, a Southern Miss employee since 1981, is senior aquarist with the College of Marine Science at the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory in Ocean Springs.

Willis is director of Human Resources and has been a Southern Miss employee since 1992. Pace is director of Continuing Education and Distributed Learning and has been a Southern Miss employee since 1989.

McLelland, an employee with the university since 1980, is executive secretary to the athletic director.

Recipients of Staff Excellence Awards are selected by a six-member awards committee that solicits nominees from across the university.



1999 archives
2000 archives
2001 archives
2002 archives
2003 archives



This page is maintained by the Department of Marketing and Public Relations at The University of Southern Mississippi.
Comments, suggestions are welcome; send them to
URL of this page:

July 15, 2003 2:29 PM