April 23, 2014  

Current weather

Few clouds, 66.2 °F

Faculty Experts

Main Content

Arts & Letters | Business | Education & Psychology | Health | Honors | Science & Technology | Non-Academic

COLLEGE OF ARTS & LETTERS

Wendy Atkins-Sayre, Ph.D.
Speaking Center, Director
Office: (601) 266-4370
wendy.atkinssayre@usm.edu

Curtis Austin, Ph.D.
Center for Black Studies
Office: (601) 266-4333
Curtis.austin@usm.edu

William Baggett, Ph.D.
Chair, Art & Design, printmaking
Office: (601) 266-4972
wbaggett@hughes.net

Angela Ball, Ph.D.
English, Creative Writing
Office: (601) 266-4983
angela.ball@usm.edu

Chris Campbell, Ph.D.
Mass Communication & Journalism
Office: (601) 266-4258
Christopher.campbell@usm.edu

Robin Carr
Voice and Acting
Office: (601) 266-4161
robin.carr@usm.edu

Mark Clark, Ph.D.
English Classics & History
Office: (601) 266-4964
mark.edward.clark@usm.edu

Richard Conville, Ph.D.
Communication in Constructing Relationships
Office: (601) 266-4272
richard.conville@usm.edu

Marie Danforth, Ph.D.
Anthropology
Office: (601) 266-4306
m.danforth@usm.edu

Jay Dean, D.M.A
Symphony Orchestra
Office: (601) 266-4001
jay.dean@usm.edu

Keith Erickson, Ed.D.
Political Communication
Office: (601) 266-4273
keith.erickson@usm.edu

Susan Fitzsimmons, Ph.D.
Visual Arts
Office: (601) 266-4972
susan.fitzsimmons@usm.edu

James Flanagan, Ph.D.
Anthropology, Social Structure
Office: (601) 266-4306
james.flanagan@usm.edu

Leah Fonder-Solano, Ph.D.
Foreign Languages & Literature, Chair
Office: (601) 266-4964
leah.fonder-solano@usm.edu

Thomas V. Fraschillo, Ph.D.
Conducting, Music Education
Office: (601) 266-4490
Thomas.fraschillo@usm.edu

Ben C. Hardman
Islamic Studies
Office: (601) 266-4518
Benjamin.hardman@usm.edu

Stanley Hauer, Ph.D.
English Language History
Office: (601) 266-4331
Stanley.hauer@usm.edu

Denise Von Herrmann, Ph.D.
Political Science, Dean, Arts & Letters
Office: (601) 266-4172
denise.vonherrmann@usm.edu

Molly Hillard, Ph.D.
English Literature, Gender Studies
Office: (601) 266-4199
molly.hillard@usm.edu

David M. Holley, Ph.D.
Philosophy, Chair
Office: (601) 266-4518
d.holley@usm.edu

Ann Kinnell, Ph.D.
Sociology of health, interaction
Office: (601) 266-4306
ann.kinnell@usm.edu

Maryann Kyle, Ph.D
Voice, Opera.
Office: (601) 266-6674
maryann.kyle@usm.edu

Tom Lansford, Ph.D.
Security/War on Terror
Office: (228) 214-3291
tom.lansford@usm.edu

Dr. Kim Leduff, Ph.D.
Mass Communication & Journalism
Office: (601) 266-5461
kim.leduff@usm.edu

Paul Linden, Ph.D.
Entertainment Industry
Office: (601) 266-6324
paul.linden@usm.edu

Allan McBride, Ph.D.
Political Science, Chair
Office: (601) 266-4310
allan.mcbride@usm.edu

Amy Chasteen Miller, Ph.D.
Chair, Sociology Dept., childbirth issues
Office: (601) 266-4306
amy.chasteen@usm.edu

Amy Milne-Smith, Ph.D.
European History
Office: (601) 266-4333
amy.milnesmith@usm.edu

Chester “Bo” Morgan, Ph.D.
University Historian
Office: (601) 266-4333
b.morgan@usm.edu

Larry Mullican
Costume Design
Office: (601) 266-4161
lmullica@netdoor.com

Robert Press
Africa, Latin America Politics
Office: (601) 266-4310
bob.press@usm.edu

Stacy Reischman
Director of Dance
Office: (601) 266-4161
stacy.reischman@usm.edu

Ellen Ruffin
Children’s Literature
Office: (601) 266-4349
Ellen.ruffin@usm.edu

Edward Sayre, Ph.D.
International Politics
Office: (601) 266-4310
Edward.sayre@usm.edu

Jennifer Shank, Ph.D.
General Music Specialist
Office: (601) 266-6944
Jennifer.shank@usm.edu

Amy A. Slagle, Ph.D.
Religious Studies
Office: (601) 266-4518
a.slagle@usm.edu

Heather Stur, Ph.D.
U.S./Foreign Relations
Office: (601) 266-4333
heather.stur@usm.edu

Jennifer Torres, Ph.D.
Art & Design Sculpture
Office: (601) 266-4972
Jennifer.torres@usm.edu

Susannah Ural, Ph.D.
Civil War History
Office: (601) 266-4333
Susannah.ural@usm.edu

Steven Venette, Ph.D.
Risk, Crisis Communication
Office: (601) 266-4325
steven.venette@usm.edu

Andrew Wiest, Ph.D.
Military History
Office: (601) 266-4333
Andrew.wiest@usm.edu

Maggie Williams
Student Printz Advisor
Office: (601) 266-6746
Margaret.williams@usm.edu

Back to Top

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Stan Clark, Ph.D.
Accounting
Office:  (601) 266-4641
Stanley.clark@usm.edu

David Duhon, Ph.D.
Business Management
Office: (601) 266-4827
david.duhon@usm.edu

Leisa Flynn, Ph.D.
Chair, Marketing & Fashion Merchandising
Office: (601) 266-4627
leisa.flynn@usm.edu

Jamye Foster, Ph.D.
Retail  Marketing
Office: (601) 266-4627
jayme.foster@usm.edu

Evelyn Green, M.S.
Casino, Hotel & Tourism Management
Office: (228) 214-5401
evelyn.green@usm.edu

Matthew Hood, Ph.D.
Finance, Sports Economy
Office: (601) 266-6732
matthew.hood@usm.edu

Skip Hughes, Ph.D.
Chair, department of Accounting
Office: (601) 266-4641
skip.hughes@usm.edu

Frank Laatsch, Ph.D.
Business Law
Office: (601) 266-4809
francis.laatsch@usm.edu

Brian Lee, Ph.D.
Finance, Real Estate
Office: (601) 266-4443
brian.lee@usm.edu

Lance Nail, Ph.D.
Dean, Finance and Economics
Office: (601) 266-5544
lance.nail@usm.edu

Catherine Price, Ph.D.
Chair, Casino, Hotel & Tourism Management
Office: (601) 266-5008
Catherine.price@usm.edu

Jennifer Sequeira, Ph.D.
Business Entrepreneurship
Office: (601) 266-5790
Jennifer.sequiera@usm.edu

Mike Wittmann, Ph.D.
Health Care Marketing
Office: (601) 266-4627
mike.wittmann@usm.edu

Back to Top

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND PSYCHOLOGY

Randolph Arnau, Ph.D.
Psychology Clinic Director
Office: (601) 266-5092
Randolph.arnau@usm.edu

Ann Blackwell, Ph.D
Department Dean
Office: (601) 266-4568
ann.blackwell@usm.edu

Jenny Bossaller, Ph.D.
Library and Information Science
Office: (601) 266-5412
jenny.bossaller@usm.edu

Shirley Bowles, Ed.D.
School Counseling
Office: (228) 214-3229
Shirley.bowles@usm.edu

Sheila Brookes, Ph.D.
Child and Family Studies
Office: (601) 266-5294
Sheila.brookes@usm.edu

David Daves, Ph.D.
Curriculum Instruction, Chair
Office: (601) 266-5917
david.daves@usm.edu

Marilyn Foxworth, Ph.D.
Undergraduate Teacher Education
Office: (601) 266-5243
Marilyn.foxworth@usm.edu

Tammy Greer, Ph.D.
Native American Issues
Office: (601) 266-6636
tammy.greer@usm.edu

Lillian Hill, Ph.D.
Adult Education
Office: (601) 266-4566
Lillian.hill@usm.edu

Karen Juneau, Ph.D.
Technology Education
Office: (228) 214-3281
Karen.juneau@usm.edu

Frances Karnes, Ph.D.
Center for Gifted Studies
Office: (601) 266-5236
gifted.studies@usm.edu

Stanley Kuczaj, Ph.D.
Dolphins/Psychological Research
Office: (601) 266-4179
s.kuczaj@usm.edu

Michael Madson, Ph.D.
Counseling psychology
Office: (601) 266-4177
Michael.madson@usm.edu

Edward Mann, Ph.D.
Technology Education, Chair
Office: (601) 266-4446
Edward.mann@usm.edu

Rose McNeese, Ph.D.
Educational Leadership
Office: (601) 266-6276
rose.mcneese@usm.edu

Tom O’Brien, Ph.D.
Educational Studies & Research
Office: (601) 266-6093
Thomas.obrien@usm.edu

Joe Olmi, Ph.D.
Psychology, Chair
Office: (601) 266-5693
d.olmi@usm.edu

Gary Peters, Ph.D.
Educational Leadership
Office: (601) 266-4583
gary.peters@usm.edu

Sheri Rawls
Online Education
Office: (601) 266-5518
sheri.rawls@usm.edu

Thelma Roberson, Ph.D.
K12 and Higher Education
Office: (601) 266-4556
Thelma.roberson@usm.edu

Kyna Shelley, Ph.D.
Statistics, Research Pedagogy
Office: (601) 266-4578
kyna.shelley@usm.edu

Susie Steen
International Education/Programs
Office: (601) 266-4361
s.l.steen@usm.edu

Ron Styron, Ph.D.
Educational Leadership
Office: (601) 266-4579
Ronald.styron@usm.edu

David Walker, Ph.D.
Special Education
Office: (601) 266-5239
dwwalker@netdoor.com

Teresa Welsh, Ph.D.
Historical Research
Office: (601) 296-0528
drtwelsh@yahoo.com

Charles West, Ph.D.
Child and Family Studies, Chair
Office: (601) 266-4679
Charles.west@usm.edu

Steve Yuen, Ph.D.
Technology Education
Office: (601) 266-4446
steve.yuen@usm.edu

Back to Top

COLLEGE OF HEALTH

Ashley Atherton, M.S.
Community Health Sciences
Office: (601) 266-4911
Ashley.atherton@usm.edu

Lynn Boardman, M.S.
Speech Language Clinic, Director
Office: (601) 266-5583
lynn.boardman@usm.edu

Denise Brown, Ph.D.
Nutrition & Food Sciences
Office: (601) 266-4504
denise.m.brown@usm.edu

Sabrina Bryant, M.S.
Hematology, Micobiology
Office: (601) 266-4942
Sabrina.bryant@usm.edu

Lori Burgess, M.S.
Speech Pathologist
Office: (601) 266-5222
lori.burgess@usm.edu

Margaret Buttross-Brinegar, M.S.
Children’s Center for Communication and Development, Director
Office: (601) 266-5222
Margaret.brinegar@usm.edu

Steven Cloud, Ph.D.
Speech & Hearing Sciences, Chair
Office: (601) 266-5217
steven.cloud@usm.edu

Daphne Cornett, M.S.
Speech Pathology
Office: (601) 266-5223
daphne.cornett@usm.edu

Dan Drane, Ph.D.
Sports Management
Office: (601) 266-5379
dan.drane@usm.edu

Rowena Elliott, Ph.D.
School of Nursing
Office: (601) 266-4409
Rowena.elliott@usm.edu

Mike Forster, Ph.D.
Dean, Healthcare trends
Office: (601) 266-4866
Michael.forster@usm.edu

Rick Green, Ph.D.
Human Performance & Recreation, Director
Office: (601) 266-5576
rick.green@usm.edu

Karen Hostetter, Ph.D.
Athletic Training
Office: (601) 266-4445
Karen.hostetter@usm.edu

Susan Hrostowski, Ph.D.
Aging trends, issues
Office: (601) 266-4178
susan.hrostowski@usm.edu

Susan Hubbell-Burchell, Ph.D.
Human Performance & Recreation
Office: (601) 266-4445
susan.hubbell@usm.edu

Jane Hudson, Ph.D.
Chair, Medical Technology
Office: (601) 266-4908
jane.hudson@usm.edu

Kay Lundy, Ph.D.
School of Nursing
Office: (601) 266-4452
Karen.lundy@usm.edu

Laura Malone, M.S.
Community Health Sciences
Office: (601) 266-6047
laura.malone@usm.edu

Maureen Martin, Ph.D.
DuBard School for Language Disorders, Director
Office: (601) 266-5223
Maureen.martin@usm.edu

Kathleen Masters, Ph.D.
School of Nursing
Office: (601) 266-5896
Kathleen.masters@usm.edu

Elaine Molaison, Ph.D.
Nutrition & Food Sciences
Office: (601) 266-6548
Elaine.molaison@usm.edu

Katherine Nugent, Ph.D.
School of Nursing, Director
Office: (601) 266-6846
katherine.nugent@usm.edu

Scott Piland, Ph.D.
Sport & High Performance Materials
Office: (601) 266-5634
scott.piland@usm.edu

Vickie Reed, M.S.
Minority health care issues
Office: (601) 266-5091
Vickie.reed@usm.edu

Tim Rehner, Ph.D.
School of Social Work, Director
Office: (601) 266-4170
tim.rehner@usm.edu

Missy Schraeder, Ph.D.
Speech Pathology
Office: (601) 266-5223
missy.schraeder@usm.edu

Raymond Scurfield
Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Office: (228) 214-3261
Raymond.scurfield@usm.edu

Lachel Story, Ph.D.
School of Nursing
Office: (601) 266-6384
Lachel.story@usm.edu

Kathy Yadrick, Ph.D.
Chair, Nutrition & Food Sciences, obesity issues
Office: (601) 266-4479
M.Yadrick@usm.edu

 

HONORS COLLEGE

David Davies, Ph.D.
Dean
Office: (601) 266-5162
dave.davies@usm.edu

Back to Top

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

Jerry “Joby” Bass, Ph.D.
World Regional Geography
Office: (601) 266-4732
joby@usm.edu

Robert Bateman, Ph.D.
Chemistry & Biochemistry, Chair
Office: (601) 266-4701
Robert.bateman@usm.edu

Anthony Bell, Ph.D.
Biomedical Chemistry
Office: (601) 266-4701
Anthony.bell@usm.edu

Dean Bertram, Ph.D.
Criminal Justice
Office: (601) 266-5124
dean.bertram@usm.edu

Patricia Biesiot, Ph.D.
Marine Biology
Office: (601) 266-4751
patricia.biesiot@usm.edu

Reginald Blaylock, Ph.D.
Aquaculture Technology
Office: (228) 872-4237
reg.blaylock@usm.edu

Charlotte Brunner, Ph.D.
Geological Oceanography
Office: (228) 688-3402
charlotte.brunner@usm.edu

Randy Buchanan, Ph.D.
Electronics Engineering
Office: (601) 266-5628
randy.buchanan@usm.edu

Gregory Carter, Ph.D.
Remote Sensing, Physical Geography
Office: (228) 818-8868
greg.carter@usm.edu

C.S. Chen, Ph.D.
Mathematics, Chair
Office: (601) 266-4290
c.s.chen@usm.edu

Jian Chen, Ph.D.
Computer Science
Office: (601) 266-5362
jian.chen@usm.edu

William Crosby, Ph.D.
Structural Design
Office: (601) 266-4892
William.crosby@usm.edu

Desmond Fletcher, Ph.D.
School of Construction, Director
Office: (601) 266-5185
desmond.fletcher@usm.edu

Cyndi Gaudet, Ph.D.
Workplace Learning
Office: (601) 266-5911
Cyndi.gaudet@usm.edu

Alina Gearba, Ph.D.
Physics/Laser Cooling
Office: (601) 266-6363
alina.gearba@usm.edu

Leslie Goff
Research Commercialization
Office: (601) 261-1361
leslie.goff@noetictechnologies.com

Claire Hamilton, Ph.D.
Commercial Design
Office: (601) 266-6437
Claire.hamilton@usm.edu

Bill Hawkins, Ph.D.
Gulf Coast Research Laboratory, Director
Office: (228) 872-4215
William.hawkins@usm.edu

Sherry Herron, Ph.D.
Center for Science & Mathematics Education
Office: (601) 266-4739
sherry.herron@usm.edu

William E. Horner, Ph.D
Differential Equations
Office: (601) 266-4300
William.horner@usm.edu

W. Wesley Johnson, Ph.D.
Constitutional Law
Office: (601) 266-4511
William.w.johnson@usm.edu

Shahid Karim, Ph.D.
Insect Genomics and Physiology
Office: (601) 266-4741
shahid.karim@usm.edu

Aimee Lee, Ph.D.
Biological Sciences Learning Center
Office: (601) 266-6374
aimee.lee@usm.edu

John Lipscomb Jr. Ph.D.
Engineering/Construction
Office: (601) 266-4092
j.lipscomb@usm.edu

Robert Lochhead, Ph.D.
School of Polymers and High Performance Materials
Office: (601) 266-5945
Robert.lochhead@usm.edu

Jeffrey Lotz, Ph.D.
Coastal Sciences, Chair
Office: (228) 872-4247
jeff.lotz@usm.edu

Doug Masterson, Ph.D.
Organic Chemistry
Office: (601) 266-4714
douglas.masterson@usm.edu

Khin Maung Maung, Ph.D.
Theoretical Nuclear/Particle Physics
Office: (601) 266-4934
khin.maung@usm.edu

Charles McCormick, Ph.D.
Controlled Free Radical Polymerization
Office: (601) 266-4872
Charles.mccormick@usm.edu

Lawrence Mead, Ph.D.
Mathematical Physics
(601) 266-4937
Lawrence.mead@usm.edu

Mark Miller, Ph.D.
Economic Workplace
Office: (601) 266-5911
m.m.miller@usm.edu

Frank Moore, Ph.D.
Chair, Biological Sciences, Ornithology
Office: (601) 266-4748
frank.moore@usm.edu

Frank Nagurney, Ph.D.
Computer Science
Office: (601) 266-4950
nagurney@orca.st.usm.edu

Scott Neal
Information Technology
Office: (601) 266-4890
scott.neal@borg.st.usm.edu

Lisa Nored, Ph.D.
Criminal Justice, Chair
Office: (601) 266-4509
lisa.nored@usm.edu

Karen Orcutt, Ph.D.
Molecular Ecology
Office: (228) 688-3154
Karen.orcutt@usm.edu

Mark Peterson, Ph.D
Fisheries Ecology
Office: (228) 872-4203
mark.peterson@usm.edu

Carl “Andy” Reese, Ph.D.
Palynology, Biogeography
Office: (601) 266-4729
carl.reese@usm.edu

Brian Richard, Ph.D.
Economic Development
Office: (601) 266-6067
brian.richard@usm.edu

Susan Ross, Ph.D.
Mathematics Education
Office: (601) 266-6257
susan.ross@usm.edu

Alan Schiller, Ph.D.
Chemical Oceanography
Office: (228) 688-1121
alan.schiller@usm.edu

Christopher Sirola, Ph.D.
Physics and Physical Science Education
Office: (601) 266-4935
Christopher.sirola@usm.edu

Marek Urban, Ph.D.
Stimuli-Responsive Polymer Coatings
Office: (601) 266-6454
marek.urban@usm.edu

Jeffrey Wiggins, Ph.D.
Sports and High Performance Materials
Office: (601) 266-4869
Jeffrey.wiggins@usm.edu

Back to Top

ADMINISTRATIVE/STUDENTS MATTERS

Jana Bryant
Assistant to the President for Communications
Office: (601) 266-4497
jana.bryant@usm.edu

Homer Coffman
University Technology
Office: (601) 266-4190
homer.coffman@usm.edu

Chris Crenshaw
Student Housing
Office: (601) 266-6370
Christopher.crenshaw@usm.edu

Jerry DeFatta
Alumni Association, Director
Office: (601) 266-5013
jerry.defatta@usm.edu

Wynde Fitts
First-year Experience
Office: (601) 266-6405
wynde.fitts@usm.edu

Eddie Holloway, Ph.D.
Dean of Students
Office: (601) 266-6028
eddie.holloway@usm.edu

Bob Hopkins
University Police, Chief
Office: (601) 266-4986
bob.hopkins@usm.edu

Lisa Moore
Greek Life
Office: (601) 266-4823
lisa.moore@usm.edu

Joe Paul, Ph.D.
Vice-President, Student Affairs
Office: (601) 266-5020
joe.paul@usm.edu

Rusty Postlewate
Director, Physical Plant
Office: (601) 266-4419
rusty.postlewate@usm.edu

Joshua Schutts
Greek Life
Office: (601) 266-4823
Joshua.schutts@usm.edu

Sheila White
Director of University Communications/Gulf Park
Office: (228) 865-4574
Sheila.white@usm.edu

David Williamson
Financial Aid
Office: (601) 266-4774
david.williamson@usm.edu

 

ATHLETIC ADMINISTRATION & COACHING

Stacy Breazeale
Student Academic Enhancement
Office: (601) 266-5488
stacy.breazeale@usm.edu

Jack Duggan
Media Relations
Office: (601) 266-4503
jack.duggan@usm.edu

Richard Giannini
Director of Athletics
Office: (601) 266-5017
richard.giannini@usm.edu

Jason Gray
Director of Compliance
Office: (601) 266-6586
Jason.gray@usm.edu

 

DISABILITY STUDIES

Cassie Hicks
Housing Coordinator
Office: (601) 266-5163
cassie.hicks@usm.edu

Jane Siders, Ph.D.
Disability Studies
Office: (601) 266-5163
jane.siders@usm.edu

Royal Walker, Ph.D.
Institute Director
Office: (601) 266-5163
royal.waker@usm.edu

 

NATIONAL CENTER FOR SPECTATOR SPORTS SAFETY AND SECURITY

Stacey Hall, Ph.D.
Sports Safety and Security, Associate Director
Office: (601) 266-4616
stacey.a.hall@usm.edu

Lou Marciani, Ph.D.
Sports Safety and Security, Director
Office: (601) 266-5675
lou.mariciani@usm.edu

Robert McDavid, B.S.
Grants coordinator
Office: (601) 266-6183
Robert.mcdavid@usm.edu

Jim McGee, M.S.
Security, FBI Issues
Office: (601) 266-6734
james.a.mcgee@usm.edu

 

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND OUTREACH, OFFICE OF

Vanessa Molden
Assistant Director
Office: (601) 266-4198
Vanessa.molden@usm.edu

Fred Varnado
Director
Office: (601) 266-4210
Frederick.varnado@usm.edu

 

STUDENT  ACTIVITIES

Audrey Charoglu
Community Service Learning
Office: (601) 266-4403
audrey.charoglu@usm.edu

Josh Duplantis
Community Service Learning
Office: (601) 266-5074
Joshua.duplantis@usm.edu

Barbara Ross
Director of Unions, Thad Cochran Center
Office: (601) 266-4396
Barbara.ross@usm.edu

 

STUDENT COUNSELING SERVICES

Sidne Buelow, Ph.D.
Department Psychologist
Office: (601) 266-4829
sidne.buelow@usm.edu

Sharon Stahler, LPC
Counseling Services
Office: (601) 266-4829
Sharon.stahler@usm.edu

 

STUDENT HEALTH SERVICES

Virginia Crawford, M.D.
Medical Director
Office: (601) 266-5390
Virginia.crawford@usm.edu

Jodi Ryder
Health Education Coordinator
Office: (601) 266-5390
Jodi.tate@usm.edu

Back to Top