December 22, 2014  

Current weather

Overcast, mist, 57.2 °F

Faculty Experts Guide

Main Content

EXPERTS IN THE COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Chair, department of Accounting
Skip Hughes, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4641

skip.hughes@usm.edu

Financial accounting theory/principles
Michael Dugan, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5028

michael.dugan@usm.edu

Public accounting practices
Valerie Simmons, M.P.A.
O: (601) 266-4985

valerie.simmons@usm.edu

Chair, Marketing & Fashion Merchandising
Leisa Flynn, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6762

leisa.flynn@usm.edu

Retail marketing trends
Jamye Foster, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4673

jayme.foster@usm.edu

Health Care marketing
Mike Wittmann, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4627

mike.wittmann@usm.edu

Business Management and International Business
David Duhon, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4827

david.duhon@usm.edu

Business Entrepreneurship
Jennifer Sequeira, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5790
 
Jennifer.sequiera@usm.edu

Casino, Hotel & Tourism Management
Evelyn Green, M.S.
O: (601) 266-6762
 
evelyn.green@usm.edu

Ethics, principles of business law
Frank Laatsch, Ph.D
O: (601) 266-4443
francis.laatsch@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN THE COLLEGE OF HEALTH

Dean, College of Health
Mike Forster, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4866

Michael.forster@usm.edu

Chair, Medical Technology
Mary Lux
O: (601) 266-4908

Mary.lux@usm.edu

Hematology, Micobiology research
Sabrina Bryant, M.S.
O: (601) 266-4942

Sabrina.bryant@usm.educ

Department of Nutrition & Food Sciences, Chair
Kathy Yadrick, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4479

M.Yadrick@usm.edu

Nutrition & Food Sciences
Elaine Molaison, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6548

Elaine.molaison@usm.edu

Intervention Coordinator
Vickie Reed, M.S.
O: (601) 266-5091

Vickie.reed@usm.edu

Speech Language Clinic, Director
Lynn Boardman, M.S.
O: (601) 266-5583

lynn.boardman@usm.edu

Speech & Hearing Sciences, Chair
Steven Cloud, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5217

steven.cloud@usm.edu

Human Performance & Recreation
Dan Drane, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5379

dan.drane@usm.edu

College of Nursing, Director
Katherine Nugent, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5454

katherine.nugent@usm.edu

Nursing trends and practices
Kathleen Masters, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5500

Kathleen.masters@usm.edu

Nursing/Basics of nephrology
Rowena Elliott, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4409

Rowena.elliott@usm.edu

School of Social Work, Director
Tim Rehner, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4170

tim.rehner@usm.edu

Social Work/Effects on Aging
Susan Hrostowski, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4178

susan.hrostowski@usm.edu

DuBard School for Language Disorders, Director
Maureen Martin, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5223

Maureen.martin@usm.edu

Speech Pathology/Adolescents
Missy Schraeder, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5223

missy.schraeder@usm.edu

Speech Pathology
Daphne Cornett, M.S.
O: (601) 266-5223

daphne.cornett@usm.edu

Early childhood communication disorders
Lori Burgess, M.S.
O: (601) 266-5222

lori.burgess@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN NATIONAL CENTER FOR SPECTATOR SPORTS SAFETY AND SECURITY

Sports Safety and Security, Director
Lou Marciani, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5675

lou.mariciani@usm.edu

Sports Safety and Security/Grants and curriculum
Stacey Hall, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4616

stacey.a.hall@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN ATHLETIC ADMINISTRATION & COACHING

Director of Athletics
Jeff Hammond
O: (601) 266-5017

jeffrey.hammond@usm.edu

Director of Compliance
Jason Gray
O: (601) 266-6586

Jason.gray@usm.edu

Media Relations/publications
Jack Duggan
O: (601) 266-4503

jack.duggan@usm.edu

Student Academic Enhancement/Tutoring
Stacy Breazeale
O: (601) 266-5488

stacy.breazeale@usm.edu

Eagle Club, Director/Fundraising
Chad Foote
O: (601) 266-5299

chad.foote@usm.edu

Baseball, Head Coach
Scott Berry
O: (601) 266-5017

scott.berry@usm.edu

Men’s Basketball, Head Coach
Donnie Tyndall
O: (601) 266-5017

donnie.tyndall@usm.edu

Women’s Basketball, Head Coach
Joye Lee McNelis
O: (601) 266-5017

joye.mcnelis@usm.edu

Football, Head Coach
Todd Monken
O: (601) 266-5017

todd.monken@usm.edu

Men’s Golf, Head Coach
Jerry Weeks
O: (601) 266-5017

jerry.weeks@usm.edu

Women’s Golf, Head Coach
Julie Galup
O: (601) 266-5017

Julie.galup@usm.edu

Men’s Tennis, Head Coach
Ki Kroll
O: (601) 266-5017

ki.kroll@usm.edu

Track & Field, Head Coach
Kevin Stephen
O: (601) 266-5017

Kevin.stephen@usm.edu

Volleyball, Head Coach
Abbey Sutherland
O: (601) 266-5017

abbey.sutherland@usm.edu

Softball, Co-Head Coaches
Jon Malgradi & Kirsten Voak
O: (601) 266-5017

jon.malgradi@usm.edu
Kirsten.voak@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN STUDENT ACTIVITIES/AFFAIRS

Community Service Learning
Josh Duplantis
O: (601) 266-3467

Joshua.duplantis@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND OUTREACH

Director
Fred Varnado
O: (601) 266-4186

Frederick.varnado@usm.edu

Assistant Director/Conference organization
Vanessa Molden
O: (601) 266-4198

Vanessa.molden@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN STUDENT HEALTH SERVICES

Director/Public Health officer
 Virginia Crawford, M.D.
O: (601) 266-5390

Virginia.crawford@usm.edu

Health Education Coordinator
Jodi Ryder
O: (601) 266-5266

Jodi.tate@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN STUDENT COUNSELING SERVICES

Student behavior
Deena Crawford, M.S.
O: (601) 266-4829

deena.crawford@usm.edu

Student behavior/national trends
Sidne Buelow, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4829

sidne.buelow@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN SUSTAINABILITY

Chief Sustainability Officer/Recycling efforts
Haley McMinn
O: (601) 266-4673

haley.mcminn@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN THE COLLEGE OF ARTS & LETTERS

Anthropology/Early man
Marie Danforth, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5629

m.danforth@usm.edu

Anthropology, Social Structure
James Flanagan, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4306

james.flanagan@usm.edu

Sociology, Department Chair
Amy Chasteen Miller, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6373

amy.chasteen@usm.edu

Socio-economic issues
Ann Kinnell, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5339

ann.kinnell@usm.edu

Art & Design Sculpture
Jennifer Torres, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4972

Jennifer.torres@usm.edu

English, Creative Writing
Angela Ball, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4983

angela.ball@usm.edu

19th Century British Literature/Folklore
Molly Hillard, Ph.D
O: (601) 266.4199

molly.hillard@usm.ed

Foreign Languages & Literature, Chair
Leah Fonder-Solano, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4964

leah.fonder-solano@usm.edu

Children’s Literature
Ellen Ruffin
O: (601) 266-4349

Ellen.ruffin@usm.edu

Military History/Vietnam War emphasis
Andrew Wiest, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4333

Andrew.wiest@usm.edu

European History
Amy Milne-Smith, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4333

amy.milnesmith@usm.edu

U.S./Foreign Relations
Heather Stur, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4333

heather.stur@usm.edu

University Historian
Chester “Bo” Morgan, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4333

b.morgan@usm.edu

Center for Black Studies
Curtis Austin, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4333

Curtis.austin@usm.edu

Mass Communication & Journalism Chair
Chris Campbell, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4258

Christopher.campbell@usm.edu

Mass Communication & Journalism
Dr. Kim Leduff, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5461

kim.leduff@usm.edu

Student Printz Adivsor
Maggie Williams
O: (601) 266-6746

Margaret.williams@usm.edu

Voice, Opera
Maryann Kyle, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6674

maryann.kyle@usm.edu

Entertainment Industry/trends
Paul Linden, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4261

paul.linden@usm.edu

Conducting, Music Education
Thomas V. Fraschillo, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4490

Thomas.fraschillo@usm.edu

Philosophy, Chair
David M. Holley, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4518

d.holley@usm.edu

Religious Studies/Applications
Amy A. Slagle, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4518

a.slagle@usm.edu

Islamic Studies
Ben C. Hardman
O: (601) 266-4518

Benjamin.hardman@usm.edu

Political Science, Dean, Arts & Letters
Steven Moser
O: (601) 266-4315

denise.vonherrmann@usm.edu

Political Science/State and national politics
Allan McBride, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4310

allan.mcbride@usm.edu

International Politics
Edward Sayre, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4310

Edward.sayre@usm.edu

Africa, Latin America Politics
Robert Press
O: (601) 266-4310

bob.press@usm.edu

Security/War on Terror
Tom Lansford, Ph.D.
O: (228) 214-3291

tom.lansford@usm.edu

Civil War History
Susannah Ural, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4333

Susannah.ural@usm.edu

Speaking Center, Director
Wendy Atkins-Sayre, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4370

wendy.atkinssayre@usm.edu

Communication in Constructing Relationships
Richard Conville, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4271

richard.conville@usm.edu

Political Communication
Keith Erickson, Ed.D.
O: (601) 266-4271

keith.erickson@usm.edu

Risk, Crisis Communication
Steven Venette, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4271

steven.venette@usm.edu

Voice and Acting
Robin Carr
O: (601) 266-4994

robin.carr@usm.edu

Director of Dance
Stacy Reischman
O: (601) 266-4161

stacy.reischman@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN THE COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND PSYCHOLOGY

Department Dean
Ann Blackwell, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4229

ann.blackwell@usm.edu

Child and Family Studies, Chair
Charles West, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4679

Charles.west@usm.edu

Child and Family Studies
Sheila Brookes, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4679

Sheila.brookes@usm.edu

Curriculum Instruction, Chair
David Daves, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5917

david.daves@usm.edu

Counseling in Secondary Education
Shirley Bowles, Ed.D.
O: (228) 214-3229

Shirley.bowles@usm.edu

Undergraduate Teacher Education
Marilyn Foxworth, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5243

Marilyn.foxworth@usm.edu

Special Education issues
David Walker, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5239

dwwalker@netdoor.com

Center for Gifted Studies
Frances Karnes, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5236

gifted.studies@usm.edu

Educational Leadership
Ron Styron, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4580

Ronald.styron@usm.edu

Educational Leadership
Rose McNeese, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6276

rose.mcneese@usm.edu

Educational Leadership
Gary Peters,  Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4583

gary.peters@usm.edu

K12 and Higher Education
Thelma Roberson, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4556

Thelma.roberson@usm.edu

Library and Information Science
Jenny Bossaller, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4228

jenny.bossaller@usm.edu

Historical Research
Teresa Welsh, Ph.D.
O: (601) 296-4228

drtwelsh@yahoo.com

Psychology Clinic Director
Randolph Arnau, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5092

Randolph.arnau@usm.edu

Counseling psychology
Michael Madson, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4546

Michael.madson@usm.edu

Native American Issues
Tammy Greer, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6636

tammy.greer@usm.edu

Psychology, Chair
Joe Olmi, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4177

d.olmi@usm.edu

Technology Education, Chair
Edward Mann, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4446

Edward.mann@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN THE COLLEGE OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

Criminal Justice/Forensics
Dean Bertram, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5124

dean.bertram@usm.edu

Criminal Justice, Chair
Lisa Nored, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4509

lisa.nored@usm.edu

Constitutional Law
W. Wesley Johnson, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4511

William.w.johnson@usm.edu

Biological Sciences, Chair/Ornithology
Frank Moore, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4748

frank.moore@usm.edu

Marine Biology
Patricia Biesiot, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4883

patricia.biesiot@usm.edu

Dolphin research/behaviors
Stan Kuczaj, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4179

stanley.kuczaj@usm.edu

Insect Genomics and Physiology
Shahid Karim, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4748

shahid.karim@usm.edu

Chemistry & Biochemistry, Chair
Sabine Heinhorst
O: (601) 266-4701

Robert.bateman@usm.edu

Biomedical Chemistry
Anthony Bell, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5906

Anthony.bell@usm.edu

Organic Chemistry
Doug Masterson, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4701

douglas.masterson@usm.edu

Gulf Coast Research Laboratory, Director
Jeffrey Lotz, Ph.D.
O: (228) 872-4200

jeff.lotz@usm.edu

Aquaculture Technology
Reginald Blaylock, Ph.D.
O: (228) 872-4237

reg.blaylock@usm.edu

Gulf Coast research/exploration
Vernon Asper, Ph.D.
O: (228) 688-3178

Vernon.asper@usm.edu

Fisheries Ecology
Mark Peterson, Ph.D.
O: (228) 872-4203

mark.peterson@usm.edu

Computer Science
Frank Nagurney, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4949

nagurney@orca.st.usm.edu

Computer Science
Jian Chen, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4949

jian.chen@usm.edu

Electronics Engineering
Randy Buchanan, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4949

randy.buchanan@usm.edu

Information Technology
Scott Neal
O: (601) 266-4949

scott.neal@borg.st.usm.edu

School of Construction, Director
Desmond Fletcher, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5185

desmond.fletcher@usm.edu

Engineering/Construction
John Lipscomb Jr. Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4092

j.lipscomb@usm.edu

Structural Design
William Crosby, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4896

William.crosby@usm.edu

Commercial Design
Claire Hamilton, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6437

Claire.hamilton@usm.edu

Workforce Development, Chair
Ken Malone, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6067

ken.malone@usm.edu

Economic Workplace issues
Mark Miller, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6067

m.m.miller@usm.edu

Workplace Learning
Cyndi Gaudet, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6067

Cyndi.gaudet@usm.edu

Business Launchpoint
Andrew Murff
O: (601) 266-5011

delamurff@yahoo.com

World Regional Geography
Jerry “Joby” Bass, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4732

joby@usm.edu

Remote Sensing, Physical Geography
Gregory Carter, Ph.D.
O: (228) 818-8868

greg.carter@usm.edu

Palynology, Biogeography
Carl “Andy” Reese, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4729

carl.reese@usm.edu

Geological Oceanography
Charlotte Brunner, Ph.D.
O: (228) 688-3402

charlotte.brunner@usm.edu

Molecular Ecology
Karen Orcutt, Ph.D.
O: (228) 688-3154

Karen.orcutt@usm.edu

Chemical Oceanography
Alan Schiller, Ph.D.
O: (228) 688-1121

alan.schiller@usm.edu

Mathematics, Chair
C.S. Chen, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4290
c.s.chen@usm.edu

Differential Equations
William E. Horner, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4300

William.horner@usm.edu

Mathematical Physics
Lawrence Mead, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4937

Lawrence.mead@usm.edu

Mathematics Education
Susan Ross, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6257

susan.ross@usm.edu

Center for Science & Mathematics Education
Sherry Herron, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4739

sherry.herron@usm.edu

Physics and Physical Science Education
Christopher Sirola, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4934

Christopher.sirola@usm.edu

Physics/Laser Cooling
Alina Gearba, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6363

alina.gearba@usm.edu

Theoretical Nuclear/Particle Physics
Khin Maung Maung, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4934

khin.maung@usm.edu

Polymer Patents/Oil Dispersant research
Robert Lochhead, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4868

Robert.lochhead@usm.edu

Polymer Applications/Oil Dispersant research
Daneil Savin, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4868

Daniel.savin@usm.edu

Controlled Free Radical Polymerization
Charles McCormick, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4868

Charles.mccormick@usm.edu

Sports and High Performance Materials
Jeffrey Wiggins, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4869

Jeffrey.wiggins@usm.edu

Stimuli-Responsive Polymer Coatings
Marek Urban, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-4868

marek.urban@usm.edu

HONORS COLLEGE

Dean/Instructor
David Davies, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5162

dave.davies@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN DISABILITY STUDIES

Institute Director/Affordable housing
Royal Walker, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5163

royal.waker@usm.edu

Disability Studies/workshops
Jane Siders, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5163

jane.siders@usm.edu

Housing Coordinator
Cassie Hicks
O: (601) 266-5163

cassie.hicks@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

Vice-President, External Affairs/Foundation Director
Bob Pierce, M.S.
O: (601) 266-5013

bob.pierce@usm.edu

Vice-President, Research
Denis Wiesenburg, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5116

denis.wiesenburg@usm.edu

External research/governmental funding
Vama Kamali, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5116

vafa.kamali@usm.edu

Economic development/Trent Lott Center Director
Rick Duke
O: (601) 266-5090

rick.duke@usm.edu

EXPERTS IN ADMINISTRATIVE/STUDENTS MATTERS

Vice-President, Student Affairs
Joe Paul, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-5020

joe.paul@usm.edu

Dean of Students/Student Conduct, Issues
Eddie Holloway, Ph.D.
O: (601) 266-6028

eddie.holloway@usm.edu

Student Housing
Jennifer Rigney
O: (601) 266-4783

Jennifer.rigney@usm.edu

First-year Experience for freshmen
Wynde Fitts
O: (601) 266-6405

wynde.fitts@usm.edu

University Technology/Systems
Homer Coffman
O: (601) 266-4190

homer.coffman@usm.edu

Physical Plant, Director
Chris Crenshaw