Faculty Handbook Committee Minutes

February 13, 2023 3:00-5:00 PM Asbury Hall & Microsoft Teams Chair: Jeremy Scott Historian: Lorraine A. Stuart

Committee members attending: Allissa Beck, Subrina Cooper, Trent Gould, Megan Marlowe, Jeremy Scott, Ward Sayre, Lorraine Stuart, Alan Thompson, Marco Wolf and Lindsay Wright.

Gallery attendees: David Beckett and Allison Gillespie.

The January minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

The Chair introduced Marco Wolf, who will serve as interim committee representative of the College of Business and Economic Development until the college holds an election.

In response to the UFHC's inquiry, the Handbook will be made available to the public online.

The Chair has received complaints from faculty that they are not receiving sufficient information on the meetings from their representatives. A discussion followed on the role of representatives and the benefit of individual updates as opposed to official minutes, which are not posted until approved. It was decided that meeting agendas would be posted a minimum of seven days prior to the meeting to allow time for faculty interested in a particular topic to plan to attend.

Historian's Report

No report given.

Old Business

Proposal 5.8.1.2.3.2 Provost

The proposal to remand tenure and promotion recommendations to the school, rather than college, committee passed the first vote.

Proposal 3.1 Introduction

The proposal clarifying that faculty is not obligated to work outside of their contractual period failed on the second vote, following the presentation of alternative text by Drs. Alan Thompson and Lindsay Wright. The alternative text will be proposed in the next meeting.

Proposal 4.4.1 Annual Activity Report

The proposal, establishing February 1 as the date for all academic personnel to submit annual activity reports to the director, passed the first vote.

Proposal 4.5.2 Faculty Evaluation Meetings

The proposal to schedule annual evaluation meetings between February 1st and March 15th failed the first vote. A proposal to establish timelines for the first and second required meetings will be submitted at the next meeting.

Proposal 5.1 Board Authority

Following a brief discussion, the proposal to adopt IHL bylaw language regarding criteria for academic tenure and promotion passed the second vote.

Proposal 5.4.4 Evaluation Criteria

The proposal reflecting the need to incorporate IHL bylaw criteria for academic tenure and promotion passed the second vote.

Proposal 5.7.1.5.4 Waiver of Probationary Period

The proposal giving final responsibility for evaluating tenure and promotion waivers to the University President, rather than the IHL Board, passed the second vote.

Proposal 5.8.1.2 Evaluative Levels and Actions

The proposal giving final responsibility for personnel decisions to the University President, rather than the IHL Board, passed the second vote.

Proposal 5.8.1.2.3 President

The proposal changing the party responsible for written notification of tenure or promotion from the IHL Board to the University President passed the second vote.

Proposal 7.1 Grievance Issues Covered in This Chapter

The proposal was withdrawn for further editing.

New Business

Chair Jeremy Scott told the committee that he and Historian Lorraine Stuart will organize the special election for the College of Business and Economic Development representative.

Proposal 2.5 Distinguished Professor

The proposal re-wording the Distinguished Professor section passed the first vote with a friendly amendment adding "librarianship" alongside teaching.

Proposal 5.3.2.4. Other Criteria as Required by IHL

The proposal acknowledging IHL's establishment of other criteria for promotion and tenure passed the first vote.

The committee thanked Dr. Wright for her work identifying broken links in the Faculty Handbook. It was decided to remove links from the Handbook and refer to resources in the narrative.

Good of the Order

Dr. David Beckett presented a review of wording in Faculty Handbook sections pertaining to Lecturer and Senior Lecturer and Chapters 2 and 5. Following discussion, the Chair asked Dr. Beckett to present his ideas as proposals at a future meeting.

Next meeting: Monday, March 20, 2023 at 3 pm.

Group One (September 2021 - August 2024), 2024-2027, 2027-2030

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the College of Arts and Sciences - Alan Thompson (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the College of Nursing and Health Professions – **Megan Marlowe** (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the University Libraries - Lorraine Stuart (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Elected member from the Council of Directors - Ward Sayre (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Member of the Faculty Senate (Senate Appointed) - Jeremy Scott

Group Two (September 2019 - August 2022), 2022-2025, 2025-2028, 2028-2031

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the College of Education and Human Sciences – **Lindsay Wright** (2022-2025)

Present: Voting, At-Large Member of the Gulf Coast Faculty - Allisa Beck (2022-2025)

Present: Voting Elected member from Dean – Dean Trent Gould (2022-2025)

Present: Non-voting Ex-officio the University Counsel: Subrina Cooper (2022-2025)

Gallery Attendance: