Directory & Services

STAFF

Marcia Landen (marcia.landen@usm.edu
   Assistant Vice President for Research Administration

T. Michelle Shows (michelle.shows@usm.edu)
   Interim Director

Avonelle Pugh (avonelle.pugh@usm.edu)
   Associate Director, Post-Award / Senior Grants Administrator

Heather Richey (heather.richey@usm.edu
   Administrative Assistant

Jennifer Wilson (jennifer.wilson@usm.edu)
   Business Analyst

For Assistance with Proposals & Contracts:

Our Grants Administrators are assigned to specific departments, centers, or units. If you don't know who your Grants Administrator is, please call our office at 601-266-4119; someone will be happy to assist you.

Jeannene Garbee (jeannene.garbee@usm.edu)
   Associate Grants Administrator

Darlene Ramsey (darlene.ramsey@usm.edu)
   Senior Grants Administrator

Tymika Rushing (tymika.rushing@usm.edu
   Associate Grants Administrator

Tyson Silas (tyson.silas@usm.edu
   Senior Grants Administrator

Bruce Smith (bruce.smith@usm.edu)
   Associate Grants Administrator

David J. Walker (david.j.walker@usm.edu)
   Senior Grants Administrator

For Assistance with Restricted Fund Expenditures and Time & Effort Reporting:

Our Grants Accountants are assigned to specific departments, centers, or units. If you don't know who your Grants Accountant is, please call our office at 601-266-4119; someone will be happy to assist you.

Lisa Bradley (lisa.bradley@usm.edu)
   Contracts and Grants Accountant

Rod Dillon (rod.dillon@usm.edu)
   Contracts and Grants Accountant

Christy Harvey (christy.harvey@usm.edu)
   Contracts and Grants Accountant

Desmond Lloyd (desmond.lloyd@usm.edu)
   Contracts and Grants Accountant

For Information on Funding Sources, COS Pivot, GrantSearch, & SPA Publications:

J. Syd Conner (syd.conner@usm.edu)
   Information Specialist

For Inquiries Regarding Office Data, Proposal Submissions, & Awards:

Mary Green (mary.green@usm.edu)
   Database Coordinator

Shelia Johnson (shelia.johnson@usm.edu)
   Grants Specialist

 

SPA PRINCIPLES & SERVICES

SPA Principles:

to provide the Southern Miss community with visible leadership in the area of sponsored project development, administration, and compliance
to offer service that is responsive to the current and projected needs of Southern Miss faculty, staff, and students
to supply differential assistance that reflects individual faculty and staff needs and experience with sponsored projects
to support the pursuit and administration of external funds related to teaching, research, and service university-wide
to promote the pursuit of competitive funding from federal, state, and private agencies

SPA Services:

to provide faculty and staff with timely information on funding opportunities
to contribute to development of proposals to support research, creative, and scholarly activities
to process and submit proposals in an accurate, timely manner
to verify that research and other sponsored activities are conducted in compliance with state, federal, and university requirements
to ensure that accounts for funded projects are in place as quickly as possible
to serve as the source of information on contracts and subcontracts
to support principal investigators (PIs) by providing information, interpretation, and guidance from proposal preparation through close-out of the award