Directory & Services

STAFF

Marcia Landen (marcia.landen@usm.edu
   Assistant Vice President for Research Administration

T. Michelle Shows (michelle.shows@usm.edu)
   Director

Corrie Thompson (corrie.thompson@usm.edu)
   Manager, Contracts and Grants Accounting

Avonelle Pugh (avonelle.pugh@usm.edu)
   Associate Director, Post-Award / Senior Grants Administrator

Mandy Newman (amanda.l.newman@usm.edu
   Business Analyst; F&A (Indirect Cost) Recovery & Distribution

Jennifer Wilson (jennifer.wilson@usm.edu)
   Business Analyst

Amy Glynn (amy.glynn@usm.edu)
   Accounts Receivable

Gale Pigott (gale.pigott@usm.edu)
   Administrative Assistant

Heather Richey (heather.richey@usm.edu
   Administrative Assistant

For Information on Funding Sources, COS Pivot, GrantSearch, & ORA Publications:

J. Syd Conner (syd.conner@usm.edu)
   Information Specialist

For Assistance with Proposals & Contracts:

Our Grants Administrators are assigned to specific departments, centers, or units. If you don't know who your Grants Administrator is, please call our office at 601-266-4119; someone will be happy to assist you.

Jeannene Garbee (jeannene.garbee@usm.edu)
   Associate Grants Administrator

Darlene Ramsey (darlene.ramsey@usm.edu)
   Senior Grants Administrator

Tymika Rushing (tymika.rushing@usm.edu
   Associate Grants Administrator

Tyson Silas (tyson.silas@usm.edu
   Senior Grants Administrator

Vacant
   Associate Grants Administrator

David J. Walker (david.j.walker@usm.edu)
   Assistant Director / Senior Grants Administrator

For Assistance with Restricted Fund Expenditures and Time & Effort Reporting:

Our Grants Accountants are assigned to specific departments, centers, or units. If you don't know who your Grants Accountant is, please call our office at 601-266-4119; someone will be happy to assist you.

Lisa Bradley  (lisa.bradley@usm.edu)
   Contracts and Grants Accountant

Rod Dillon (rod.dillon@usm.edu)
   Contracts and Grants Accountant

Christy Harvey (christy.harvey@usm.edu)
   Contracts and Grants Accountant

Desmond Lloyd (desmond.lloyd@usm.edu)
   Contracts and Grants Accountant

For Information on Financial Reporting and Billing:

Neta Hession (neta.hession@usm.edu)
   Contracts Accountant: Federal Agencies, Letters of Credit,
   Salary Recovery & Distribution, MIDAS

Haley Freeman (haley.freeman@usm.edu)
   Contracts Accountant: Fixed Price Projects, State & 
   Business/Industry Agencies

Shannon Davis (shannon.davis@usm.edu)
   Contracts Accountant: Fixed Price Projects, State & 
   Business/Industry Agencies

Annie Kaufmann (annie.r@usm.edu)
   Contracts Accountant: Fixed Price Projects, State & 
   Business/Industry Agencies

For Inquiries Regarding Office Data, Proposal Submissions, & Awards:

Mary Green (mary.green@usm.edu)
   Database Coordinator

Shelia Johnson (shelia.johnson@usm.edu)
   Grants Specialist

 

ORA PRINCIPLES & SERVICES

ORA Principles:

to provide the Southern Miss community with visible leadership in the area of sponsored project development, administration, and compliance
to offer service that is responsive to the current and projected needs of Southern Miss faculty, staff, and students
to supply differential assistance that reflects individual faculty and staff needs and experience with sponsored projects
to support the pursuit and administration of external funds related to teaching, research, and service university-wide
to promote the pursuit of competitive funding from federal, state, and private agencies

ORA Services:

provide faculty and staff with timely information on funding opportunities
contribute to development of proposals to support research, creative, and scholarly activities
support principal investigators (PIs) by providing information, interpretation, and guidance from proposal preparation through close-out of the award
process and submit proposals in an accurate, timely manner
ensure that accounts for funded projects are in place as quickly as possible
serve as the source of information on contracts and subcontracts
verify that research and other sponsored activities are conducted in compliance with state, federal, and university requirements
develop and ensure compliance with university policies related to Cost Accounting Standards
ensure cost-sharing commitments are documented
determine the propriety of costing issues
capture, analyze and report pertinent costing data to the administration
 assist in preparation of the Univerisity's facilities and administrative costs rates  
review service center rate calculations
prepare financial billings and reports
prepare disclosure statements