The University of Southern Mississippi School of Mass Communication and Journalism was re-accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education and Journalism in Mass Communications at the ACEJMC meeting in Arlington, Va. April 30-May 1, 2010.

ACEJMC –accredited programs are reviewed every six years. The School of Mass Communication and Journalism completed a comprehensive self-study in preparation for a three-day visit by an ACEJMC site team that came to campus in November 2009.  

“We’re obviously very pleased with the outcome of the site visit and with ACEJMC’s decision to re-accredit the program,” said Dr. Chris Campbell, director of the School of Mass Communication and Journalism.

The site team was led by Judy Turk, director of the School of Journalism at Virginia Commonwealth University, and included Joe Foote, dean of the Gaylord College at the University of Oklahoma, Charlyne Berens, interim dean of the College of Communication at the University of Nebraska, and Rose Jackson Flenorl, manager of social responsibility at FedEx

The team toured facilities, attended classes and met with the school’s students, faculty and staff and with university administrators. It found that the school was in compliance with eight of nine ACEJMC standards and recommended that it be re-accredited. 

The team’s report described the school’s faculty as “caring, committed, accessible, demanding and dedicated to helping students to succeed.”  It described the school’s students as “engaged and involved and who truly appreciate the professional expertise and contacts of the faculty.”  

The site team also commended the school for its “commitment to diversity that is clearly demonstrated through faculty and student demographics and the school’s climate.” 

The school’s next re-accreditation review will be in 2015-16.  Additional information about the accreditation process is available through the ACEJMC Web site at