Faculty

THE CENTER FOR SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS EDUCATION

Sherry Herron
Director
601.266.4739
Office: JST 314-B
P.O. Box: 5087
Fax: 601-266-6145
Sherry.Herron@usm.edu

Kristy Halverson
Assistant Professor

601.266.5841
Office: JST 309
P.O. Box: 5087
Kristy.Halverson@usm.edu

Sheila Hendry
Instructor
601.266.6367
Office: JST 315
P.O. Box: 5087
Sheila.Hendry@usm.edu

Shelia A. Brown
COSSE Scientist/Project Coord.
228.374.5550
Office: GCRL
P.O. Box: 5118
Shelia.Brown@eagles.usm.edu

Thomas Sumrall 
tsumrall4@bellsouth.net

Parker Nelson
parker.nelson@hpsd.k12.us.ms

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Frank R. Moore 
Professor
601.266.4748
P.O. Box: 5018
Frank.Moore@usm.edu

Kenneth J. Curry
Associate Professor
601.266.4930
Office: JST 413
P.O. Box: 5018
Kenneth.Curry@usm.edu

CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY

Deborah Booth
Instructor

601.266.4701
Office: TEC 433
P.O. Box: 5043
Deborah.Booth@usm.edu

COMPUTER SCIENCE

Ahmed Abukmail 
601.266.4949
Office: TEC 214
P.O. Box: 5106
Ahmed.Abukmail@usm.edu

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES

Kenneth Rhinehart
Instructor
601.266.4981
Office: WSB 233
P.O. Box: 5137
Kenneth.Rhinehart@usm.edu

MATHEMATICS

Jiu Ding
Professor
601.266.4291
Office: SH 314
P.O. Box: 5045
Jiu.Ding@usm.edu

Mary B. Peters
Instructor
601.266.6657
Office: SH 201B
P.O. Box: 5045
Mary.Peters@usm.edu

Haiyan Tian
Associate Professor
601.266.4292
Office: SH 316
P.O. Box: 5045
Haiyan.Tian@usm.edu

William Hornor
601.266.4289
William.Hornor@usm.edu

John Perry

john.perry@usm.edu

www.math.usm.edu/perry

PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY

Chris Sirola
Associate Professor
601.266.4935
Office: TEC 117B
P.O. Box: 5045
Chris.Sirola@usm.edu

POLYMER SCIENCE

Sarah Morgan
Assistant Professor
601.266.5296
Office: PSRC 303
P.O. Box: 5165
Sarah.Morgan@usm.edu

TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION

Taralynn S Hartsell
Associate Professor
601.266.4669
P.O. Box: 5036
Taralynn.Hartsell@usm.edu

EDUCATION

James T. Johnson
Dir. of Center for Research Support
601.266.5040
Office: WEH 219
P.O. Box: 5116
JT.Johnson@usm.edu

Kyna Shelly,Professor 

601.266.4578

Kyna.Shelly@usm.edu

Richard Mohn
Assistant Professor

601.266.6179
Richard.Mohn@usm.edu

Thomas J Lipscomb 
Associate Professor
601-266-4580
Thomas.Lipscomb@usm.edu