Legislative Branch

The Senate is the legislative branch of SGA and is composed of the SGA Vice-President and 35 elected Senators.  Each senator represents his/her academic college or campus at large and are responsible for representing their corresponding constituents.  The Senate meets on a weekly basis to discuss issues, concerns, and ideas that impact the student body and university as a whole.  In turn, the Senate produces pieces of legislation that, once approved by both the university President and SGA President, are brought into effect and introduced as new university policies.  The Senate is further responsible for approving all SGA appointments and the annual SGA budget, as well as conducting the annual SGA Student Organizational Fund application and disbursement process.  The Senate is governed by both the SGA Constitution and the Senate By-Laws.