The University of Southern Mississippi welcomes visitors to campus - to watch our Golden Eagles compete, for our many arts and cultural events, a meal at our Power House restaurant or a tour of our famed All-American Rose Garden.
On-campus parking passes for guests are available either by visiting the Department of Parking Management in McLemore Hall or by stopping at the information booth on East Memorial Drive, the main entrance off Hardy Street.
Our art and design, music, and theatre and dance programs produce hundreds of events or exhibitions each year that are open to the public. Check out our calendar in the Arts section for upcoming performances.
Athletics & Recreation
The Golden Eagles are members of Conference USA and participate in 16 sports at the Division I level. Check out the Southern Miss Athletics schedule.
The Bruce and Virginia Wilgus Fitness and Wellness Trail is conveniently located adjacent to the Payne Center and provides leisure and exercise opportunities for the entire family in a safe and well-maintained environment. Fully lighted, the trail includes park benches, maps and Code-Blue Security phones.
Membership at the Payne Center is available to alumni, Eagle/Honor Club members, university retirees and members of the military and police departments.
Campus Visits for Prospective Students
Prospective students and their parents are encouraged to schedule a campus visit through the Office of Admissions. Campus visits are available Monday-Friday and feature a guided tour of campus. Visits can be scheduled online or by calling the Office of Admissions at 601.266.5000.
In addition, the following resources are available for prospective students:
- Graduate School
- Gulf Park campus or Gulf Coast Admissions
- International Student and Scholar Services
- Center for Military Veterans, Service Members and Families
If you're in the neighborhood, the Power House restaurant is a casual sit-down restaurant featuring Southern and Cajun cuisine. Built in 1934 as the original power source to heat campus, it was restored and retains its distinctive smoke stack.
Other venues include the main campus dining facility, the Fresh Food Company in the Thad Cochran Center; Seymour's in the R.C. Cook Union, featuring Chick-fil-A and Subway; and Starbucks in the Cook Library.
View all on-campus dining facilities.
Contact Jami King at 601.266.4399 or Jami.King@usm.edu for more information.
Landmarks & Icons
The All-American Rose Garden: Located near the front entrance of the campus, the semicircular garden consists of 32 separate beds, each containing its own unique hybrid of rose. Planted in 1973 by the Hattiesburg Area Rose Society, the garden was approved as an accredited Public Rose Garden by All-American Rose Selections Inc. in 1975. Be careful! The University fines those caught picking flowers, with fines range between $50 and $500 per rose.
Aubrey K. Lucas Administration Building: More commonly known as the The Dome, the administration building is named for former president Dr. Lucas (1975-96). Its patina top and distinctive architecture make it a focal point of campus. It was built in 1930. The class of 1970 funded the fountain in front of The Dome, built in 1972.
Danforth Chapel: The picturesque chapel, built in 1957, has stained glass windows representing the seven virtues: Faith, Hope, Charity, Justice, Fortitude, Temperance and Prudence. The chapel is in the heart of campus on East Memorial Drive near the Hub. Adjacent to the chapel is a 60-foot, 23-ton, 11 million-year-old petrified tree that was moved to campus in 1987.
The District: During football season, The District becomes a hotbed of activity as students, alumni and friends of Southern Miss gather to tailgate before each home game. More than a tailgating spot, the area also offers visitors an opportunity to take a walk in the Rose Garden during the day, to see the illuminated dome at night, to enjoy the Black-Eyed Susans in the spring and to participate in the Eagle Walk in the fall.
Eagle Walk: Located under the east side of The Rock Drive, Eagle Walk displays the memories of Southern Miss’ past with names and jersey numbers of star players and recognition of bowl games.
Lake Byron: Members of the senior class of 1933 voted to create an artificial lake on the campus' front lawn, just east of the rose garden. The lake was officially dedicated as Lake Byron on May 28, 1934.
The Little Rock: Located between The District and McLemore Hall, the Little Rock plays an important role during football season. Before each home game, the rock is given a fresh coat of gold paint and bears a spirited phrase about that week’s opponent.
Shoemaker Square: The bricked pedestrian plaza in front of the Hub was named in memory of former Dean of Students Tom Shoemaker. A beautiful cylindrical fountain sits as a centerpiece of the square.
Resources & Technology
Internet connection for visitors: Contact the iTech Help Desk for more information at 601.266.HELP (4357). Details
Library access: Members of the Southern Miss Alumni Association are eligible for circulation and document delivery services at University Libraries and may also access electronic resources using computers located in the libraries. Membership in the Alumni Association is open to the general public.
The Osher Lifelong Learning Institute and the Regional Service Center are two of many centers, institutes or offices that provide learning opportunities as well as outreach and services for the general community.
The Center for Community and Civic Engagement helps match student volunteers with community organizations. Conference Housing assists with overnight accommodations for those attending campus, conferences and other on-campus events.
View a full list of our community-focused centers and institutes.