A&L Academic Calendar

 2016-2017

August 2016

Mon, Aug 22                                      Faculty contracts begin on campus
Wed, Aug 24 Classes begin – Fall semester 

September 2016 

Mon, Sep 5

Labor Day holiday (day and night classes do not meet)

Mon, Sep 12

Departments send Departmental Personnel Committee (DPC) option, names of College Advisory Committee (CAC) and University Advisory Committee (UAC) to the Dean

Fri, Sep 16Faculty submit tenure and promotion dossiers to department
Thu, Sep 29Fall College Meeting, 4:00 p.m., LAB 108

October 2016

Fri, Oct 7

Departmental Personnel Committee submits tenure and promotion recommendations to department chair

Thu-Fri, Oct 20-21

Fall Break (for students only)

Fri, Oct 21 Department chairs submit tenure and promotion recommendations to the CAC 

November 2016

Tue, Nov 22

CAC submits tenure and promotion recommendations to the dean

December 2016

Fri, Dec 16

Commencement – Reed Green Coliseum

Mon, Dec 19

Final grades due into SOAR by 11:00 a.m.

Wed, Dec 21 Holiday break begins after work day 

January 2017

Mon, Jan 9

Faculty submit pre-tenure review materials

Tue, Jan 3Holiday break ends
Mon, Jan 16Martin Luther King Holiday
Tue, Jan 17Classes begin – Spring semester
Fri, Jan 27Departmental Committee submits recommendations for Pre-tenure Review to department chairs

February 2017

Thu, Feb 16

Department chairs submit recommendations for Pre-tenure Review to the CAC 

Mon-Tue, Feb 27-28

Mardi Gras holiday (for STUDENTS ONLY)

March 2017

Mon, Mar 13

CAC submits recommendations for Pre-Tenure Review to the dean

Mon-Fri, Mar 13-17

Spring Break (for STUDENTS ONLY

April 2017

 Fri, April 14  Good Friday holiday

May 2017

Fri, May 12Commencement – Hattiesburg
Sat, May 13Commencement – Gulf Coast 
Mon, May 15Final grades due into SOAR by 11:00 a.m.
Thu, May 18 Last day of the academic year for faculty on nine-month contracts
Mon, May 29Memorial Day holiday

See Provost's calendar for additional dates.