Matthew Donahue

Assistant Professor

Organic Chemistry

Research Area:



  • Post-doctoral Study; Vanderbilt University (2005-2007)
    •  Mentor: Professor Jeffrey N. Johnston
    •  In-situ ReactIR Study of Azide-Olefin anti-Aminohydroxylation
  • Senior Research Scientist 2 in Radiosynthesis, Wyeth Research (2007-2010)
  • Scientist in Radiosynthesis, Yoh Scientific for Boehringer Ingelheim (2010)
  • Scientist in Isotope Synthesis, Janssen Research and Development, The Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson (2011-2013) 

Research Interests:

  • Total Synthesis of Natural Products
  • Heterocycle Synthesis
  • Mechanistic Organic Chemistry
  • Stable Isotope and Long Lived Radioactive Isotopic Labeling of Organic Compounds
  • Analysis of Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients in the Environment
  • Targets of Interest:

The Donahue group is interested in research on topics related to natural product total synthesis and reaction method development. Targets of interest include the bioactive Lycopodium alkaloids magellanine and palhinine A and new heterocyclic ureas and guanidines. Students will learn practical laboratory skills relating to organic and analytical chemistry while working on complex problems. They will be trained on how to set-up, analyze and purify organic reactions. Hands on training will be provided for department instrumentation including infrared spectroscopy (IR), high-pressure liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry (LC-MS), and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy (NMR) for the characterization of new chemical entities. Over the course of the research they will develop scientific literacy by reading the primary chemical literature. As the research progresses students will be expected to present results at internal and external scientific meetings.

Honors and Awards:

  • The Ohio State University
    •  Department of Chemistry Fellowship Sponsored by Lubrizol (2003)
    •  John S. Swenton Teaching Award (2005)
  • Janssen Research and Development
    •  Neuroscience Innovation Leadership Award (2013)

Professional Memberships and Service:

Selected Publications: