The Coleen Salley Storytelling Award

Coleen SalleyThe Coleen Salley Storytelling Award was established in 2010 to honor the memory of Children's Book Festival supporter, storyteller, and children's literature advocate Coleen Salley.  Throughout her career, Ms. Salley worked tirelessly to promote quality children's literature and reading.  Each year the award recognizes a storyteller whose mission reflects the ideals and dedication to the field that Ms. Salley personified.  The session is supported by the family of Coleen Salley, the Coleen Salley Storytelling Endowment, and The University of Southern Mississippi Foundation.  If you are interested in contributing to the endowment, contact The University of Southern Mississippi Foundation.  Learn more about Coleen Salley.


Recipients of the Coleen Salley Storytelling Award

2010- Walter Mayes AKA Walter the Giant Storyteller

2011- Carmen Agra Deedy

2012- Caroline Herring 

2013- Trout Fishing in America

2014- Mary Hamilton

2015- Rita Auerbach

2016- Tim Tingle

2017- Pat Mora