Ezra Jack Keats New Writer and New Illustrator Awards for Children's Books

Ezra Jack Keats Medallion

Known collectively as the Ezra Jack Keats Book Award, the New Writer Award was established in 1985, and the New Illustrator Award in 2001, to recognize and encourage authors and illustrators starting out in the field of children's books. Many past winners of the EJK Book Award have gone on to distinguished careers creating books beloved by parents, children, librarians and teachers across the country.

The Ezra Jack Keats Book Award is given annually to an outstanding new writer and new illustrator of picture books for children (age 9 and under) and are presented by The Ezra Jack Keats Foundation. A distinguished selection committee of early childhood education specialists, librarians, illustrators and experts in children’s literature reviews the entries, seeking books that portray the universal qualities of childhood, a strong and supportive family, and the multicultural nature of our world. The Book Award was co-presented by The New York Public Library from 1986 to 2011. As of 2012, the de Grummond Children's Literature Collection co-presents the award during the Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival.

To be eligible, writers and illustrators must have published no more than three books. The EJK Book Award and an honorarium of $1,000 are given to each of the winners.

For more information on this award and the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation, visit the Official Website of the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation.