Magnolia Award Past Recipients

The 2010 Magnolia Award: The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo

The 2011 Magnolia Award: Knucklehead by Jon Scieszka

The 2012 Magnolia Award: 43 Cemetery Road:  Dying to Meet You by Kate Klise, Illustrated by Sara Klise

The 2013 Magnolia Awards:

  • Grades K-2 – Hot Rod Hamster by Cynthia Lord, Illustrated by Derek Anderson
  • Grades 3-5 – Charlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to NOT Reading – Tommy Greenwald
  • Grades 6-8 – Countdown – by Deborah Wiles

The 2014 Magnolia Awards:

  • Grades K-2- Big Mean Mike by Michelle Knudsen, Illustrated by Scott Magoon
  • Grades 3-5- The Book of Blood by H.P Newquist
  • Grades 6-8- Divergent by Veronica Roth
The 2015 Magnolia Awards:
  • K-2: The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt
  • 3-5: Tales from a Not-so-happy Heartbreaker by Rachel Renee Russell
  • 6-8: Bad Girls: Sirens, Jezebels, Murderesses, Thieves, & Other Female Villains by Jane Yolen & Heidi Stemple
  • 9-12: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell 
The 2016 Magnolia Awards:
  • K-2 Winner: The Princess and the Presents by Caryl Hart  
    Runner-up: What to Do When You’re Sent to Your Room by Ann Stott
  • 3-5 Winner: Wolf by Valerie Hobbs  
    Runner-up: Hot Dog! Eleanor Roosevelt throws a Picnic by Leslie Kimmelman
  • 6-8 Winner: Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein  
    Runner-up: The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm
  • 9-12 Winner: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart 
    Runner-up: All the Truth that’s In Me by Judith Berry 

 Magnolia Book Awards