Faculty & Staff

 

 

Our faculty consists of accomplished researchers and experienced teachers who are leaders in, and major contributors to, the communication discipline. We have received Southern Miss Excellence in Teaching and Excellence in Service awards; the Southern States Communication Association’s Outstanding Teacher, Distinguished Service, and Communication Theory and Gender Studies Divisions’ Outstanding Scholar awards; the Southern Regional Education Board Faculty Mentor Award, and the National Communication Association’s Golden Anniversary Monograph Award. Grants from the National Center for Food Protection and Defense, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Institutes of Health, and the Mississippi Humanities Council have funded research and other activities in our department. The faculty have produced 12 books and published more than 170 articles in dozens of books and virtually all journals sponsored by our professional associations. We have twice served as journal editors and four have been elected President of the Southern States Communication Association. You will find us to be knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and supportive.

Faculty & Staff 

Dr. Laura Alberti
Assistant Professor and
Basic Course Director 

478 Liberal Arts Building
601.266.4271
laura.alberti@usm.edu

Areas of Interest:
Rhetorical criticism & the rhetoric of
War and peace

Dr. Kathryn E. Anthony 
Assistant Professor  
475 Liberal Arts Building
601.266.4272
kathryn.anthony@usm.edu 

Areas of Interest:
Health & risk and crisis communication

 

Dr. Wendy Atkins-Sayre 
Interim Associate Director of the School of Communication
Professor
106A College Hall
601.266.4271
wendy.atkinssayre@usm.edu 

Areas of Interest: 
Social movement rhetoric, feminist
criticism, & southern identity 



 

Dr. Marcus Coleman
Assistant Professor
477 Liberal Arts Building
601.266.4271
marcus.coleman@usm.edu

Areas of Interest: 
Voter identification legislation, patriotism,
civic engagement, & political ideology 
 

Dr. Casey Maugh Funderburk
Associate Professor
Acting Director of the School of Communication and Vice Provost, Gulf Park Campus
106E College Hall

601-266-4258

and

730 East Beach Boulevard
Long Beach, MS 39560
228-214-3309
casey.maugh@usm.edu

Areas of Interest:
Political rhetoric, visual rhetoric,
& public memory 



 

Dr. John C. Meyer
Professor  
470 Liberal Arts Building 
601-266-4280
john.meyer@usm.edu

Areas of Interest:
Humor & organizational culture

 

 

 

Dr. Eura Jung
Associate Professor
472 Liberal Arts Building
601.266.4276
eura.jung@usm.edu 

Areas of Interest:
Intercultural, interpersonal, & identity 

 

Dr. Paul Strait 
Assistant Professor
Director of Forensics 
476 Liberal Arts Building 
601.266.4286
l.strait@usm.edu 

Areas of Interest:
Rhetoric & argumentation

 

 

 

Dr. Laura Stengrim 
Assistant Professor
Speaking Center Director
473 Liberal Arts Building 
601.266.4271
laura.stengrim@usm.edu

Areas of Interest:
Rhetoric & globalization 



Dr. Steven Venette
Professor
471 Liberal Arts Building
601.266.4325
steven.venette@usm.edu 

Areas of Interest:
Risk & crisis, organization,
& argumentation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Emeritus Faculty 

Dr. Richard Conville
Professor Emeritus

richard.conville@usm.edu

Areas of Interest:
Service learning, interpersonal,
& qualitative methods

Dr. Charles Tardy
Professor Emeritus

charles.tardy@usm.edu  

Areas of Interest: 
Nonverbal, intercultural, & interpersonal

Dr. Lawrence Hosman 
Retired Professor

lawrence.hosman@usm.edu

Areas of Interest: 
Persuasion, social influence, & message 
construction   

 

 

 

 Graduate Teaching Assistants

Braden Bagley.  (M.A., Southern Utah University).  Braden.Bagley@usm.edu
Nazanin Bani Amerian (M.A., University of Central Florida). 445 Liberal Arts Building. Nazanin.BaniAmerian@usm.edu
Jessica Beckham (M.A. Murray State University). 446 Liberal Arts Building. Jessica.beckham@usm.edu
Karen Boger.  (B.A., University of North Carolina--Greensboro).  Karen.Boger@usm.edu
Amy Jo Ellefson (M.A., Bellevue University. M.A., Creighton University). 446 Liberal Arts Building. Amy.ellefson@usm.edu
Sean Fourney (M. A., West Chester University) 445 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4987. sean.fourney@usm.edu
Brooke Kuhn.  (B.A., University of Southern Mississippi).  Brooke.Kuhn@usm.edu
Rita Nassuna (M.A., New Mexico State University). 445 Liberal Arts Building. 601.266.4987. rita.nassuna@usm.edu
Alexandria Phipps.  (B.A., University of Southern Mississippi). Alexandria.Phipps@usm.edu
Steven Young (M.A., The State University of New York at Albany). Speaking Center, 117 Cook Library. 601.266.4965. Steven.Young@usm.edu 
Zhenzhu Zhan. (M.A., Shanghai International Studies University). Zhenzhu.Zhan@usm.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Michael King (Ph.D., U. of Southern Miss.) 601.266.4271. m.l.king@usm.edu

Grant McKay (MA, U. of Southern Miss.).  601.266.4271.  grant.mckay@usm.edu

Hannah Rachal (Online; MA, U. of Southern Miss.) 601.266.4271

Nicole Cheramie (Online; MA, U. of Southern Miss.).  601.266.4271.  nicole.magee@usm.edu

Angela Murray (Gulf Park campus; MS, U. of Southern Miss.) angela.mozingo@usm.edu
Jenny Tate (Gulf Park campus; MS, U. of Southern Miss.). jenny.tate@usm.edu