Southeastern Regional Education Board (SREB)

The Southeastern Regional Educational Board is a non-profit group that is not biased toward any political group. 

The group has 16 member states as listed below:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia



SREB was created as the first compact between states in 1948 by governors and legislatures in the South who understood the correlation between education and economic growth. 




  • Members of SREB entered into SREB Electronic Campus Regional Reciprocity Agreement (SECRRA).


  • SECRRA is a reciprocity agreement which permits USM to provide online education to students in SECRRA states by registering the courses on the Electronic Campus.


  • As long as the institution does not have a “physical presence” based on the state definitions (which vary), USB can offer online education in SECRRA member states.


  • If an institution triggers physical presence in SECRRA member state, the institution will need to seek authorization from the state, as specifically noted in the Exclusions section of the SECRRA Memorandum of Agreement.