HousingSmart: Next Generation - How does the Fair Housing Act Relate to Me?

  • The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings and other housing related transactions based on seven categories: Race, Color, National Origin, Religion, Sex, Familial Status, and DISABILITY.
    • The FHA is a law created so that no one may take any of the following actions against you based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or DISABILITY:
      • Refuse to rent or sell housing;
      • Refuse to negotiate for housing;
      • Make housing unavailable;
      • Deny a dwelling;
      • Set different terms, conditions or privileges for the sale or rental of a dwelling;
      • Provide different housing services or privileges;
      • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale, or rent;
      • Deny anyone access to or membership in a facility or service related to the sale or rental of housing (access to gym, pool);
      • Or otherwise treat you any different than they would any other person in a differing situation.

Additional protection if you have a disability:

Your landlord may not:

  • Refuse to let you make reasonable modifications to your dwelling or common use areas, at your expense, if necessary for the person with a disability to use the housing (where reasonable, the landlord may permit changes only if you agree to restore the property to its original condition when you move).
  • Refuse to make reasonable accommodations in rules, policies, practices, or services if necessary for the person with a disability to use the housing (requested handicapped parking, no-pet policy service dog exception).