Awards and Recognitions



Melandie McGee and Dr. Eric Platt, authors of, "The Forgotten Slayings: Memory, History, and Institutional Response to the Jackson State University Shootings of 1970,” has been selected as Article of the Year for Volume 42 of the American Educational History Journal


Dr. Rich Mohn recently was awarded the Hampton S. Williams endowment, developed to pay tribute to Dr. Williams for 18 years of exemplary teaching, research, and service as a professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Research.


Dr. Eric Platt received the College Outstanding Junior Faculty Award at the 2016 Convocation.


Dr. Kyna Shelley received the 2016 college Excellence in Advising and Mentoring Award.


Ken Thompson received the John R. Rachal Dissertation Award; Chasity Pierce was awarded the Gibbes-Liberto Lifelong Learning Scholarship.


Tanya Mandishona and Lenore Malone (shown with Dr. Lilian Hill, Department Co-chair) received the W.L. Pierce Higher Education Leadership Award and the Bobby Anderson Teacher-Leadership Award.


Chasity Pierce (shown with Drs. Thomas Lipscomb and Lilian Hill) was presented with the Nancy Whitten New Scholarship Award.


Joanna Alston has received the Emma Giles Scholarship from The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International. The honor Society promotes excellence in education and personal and professional growth of women educators. A member of the Society’s Alpha Lambda Chapter in Mississippi, Alston is a doctoral student majoring in Adult Education.

 Shaeffer, Griffin, and Lassabe

Lenore Schaffer, Kate Griffin, and Lauren Lassabe were recently honored with the Dean's award at the 2016 Southwest Educational Research Association conference.