The Department of Curriculum, Instruction, and Special Education is proud of sharing the following kudos with you:

Spring 2013

  1. Billie Tingle received the ODA Outstanding Instructor Award.
  2. IT faculty members and students presented at the 2013 MECA conference. View the detailed presentation information_in_word format.

Fall 2012

  1. Dr. Mary Beth Evans received the "Mid-South Educational Research Association Walter M. Mathews Historical Contribution Award"  at MSERA held in Lexington, Kentucky in Nov, 2012. This is the most prestigious award given by MSERA.
  2. Dr. Rose Jones was recognized for serving four (4) years as Mississippi’s representative at MSERS this fall.
  3. Dr. Shuyan Wang and Dr. Taralynn Hartsell have a book, Technology Integration and Foundation for Effective Leadership, published by IGI Global.

Summer 2012

  1. CISE celebrated Dr. Evans' 95th Birthday on July 16, 2012.
  2. Dr. Shuyan Wang has three edited books published in July 2012: (1) Cases on E-Learning Management: Development and Implementation; (2) Cases on Formal and Informal E-Learning Environments: Opportunities and Practices; and (3) Cases on Online Learning Communities and Beyond: Investigations and Applications.
  3. The Speech and Hearing Building, where CISE is located, was officially renamed The J.B. George Building to honor Dr. Jennings Burton George on June 14, 2012. Dr. George served as the president of the university from 1933 to 1945. View the photos of the ceremony.
  4. Jonnie Cleveland won the top paper from CISE at the Annual 2012 Graduate School Symposium held at The University of Southern Mississippi in the Thad Cochran Center on March 23, 2012.

Spring 2012

  1. Dr. Beth Richmond won University Assessment Award of the Year from USM.
  2. Dr. Diane Fisher won Teacher of the Year from National Business Education Association.
  3. CISE is proud that Laura Kathryn Biggers won the Student Worker of the year during National Student Employment Week.View the details.
  4. Ms. Laura Kathryn Biggers won Student Worker of the Year from Southern Miss.