Center for Writers Faculty

Angela Ball

Angela Ball’s prize winning and frequently anthologized poems and translations have appeared in journals including The New YorkerAtlantic MonthlyColorado ReviewDenver QuarterlyFieldPartisan ReviewPloughsharesPoetry, and The Southern Review. Her books of poetry include Kneeling Between Parked Cars (Owl Creek Press, 1990);Possession (Red Hen, 1995); Quartet (Carnegie Mellon, 1995); and The Museum of the Revolution (Carnegie Mellon, 1999). Her 2007 collection, Night Clerk At the Hotel of Both Worlds (University of Pittsburgh Press), received both the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Award in Poetry and the Donald Hall Prize from the Association of Writers and Writing Programs. The recipient of an Individual Writer’s Grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, Ball has represented the U.S. at the Poetry International Festival in Rotterdam, and has been a writer in residence at the University of Richmond and at Chateau Lavigny near Lausanne, Switzerland.


Steven Barthelme

Steven Barthelme is the author of more than 120 stories, essays, and articles, and four books, two of fiction and two of non-fiction.  Early stories were collected in And He Tells the Little Horse the Whole Story  (Johns Hopkins University Press), and a new collection titled Hush Hush, issued in 2012 by Melville House, includes stories from the The Atlantic Monthly (read his Atlantic story "Heaven" here), Yale Review, Boulevard, Epoch, Esquire online, McSweeney’s, North American Review, and elsewhere.  His non-fiction books are the memoir, Double Down, co-authored with his brother, published in 1999 by Houghton Mifflin, and essays collected in The Early Posthumous Work, from Red Hen Press in 2010.  Those pieces originally appeared in the  New York Times Magazine, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Texas Observer, the New Yorker, Elle Decor, and other newspapers and magazines.  His short stories have been reprinted in various anthologies including the Pushcart Prizes 1993 and 2005 and have earned fellowships or awards from the Henfield Foundation, the Hemingway Days Festival, the Texas Institute of Letters, the Mississippi Arts Commission, and the PEN Syndicated Fiction Project.



Monika Gehlawat

Monika Gehlawat received her Ph.D from UC Berkeley where she studied 20th Century Literature and Art. Her current book manuscript Speaking Up: Singularity and Voice in Postwar American Literature takes up the work of James Baldwin, Frank O'Hara, Grace Paley and Andy Warhol, and reflects her longstanding interest to work in the interdisciplinary mode. Gehlawat is the Director of Graduate Studies and also teaches courses in modern and contemporary literature, critical theory and visual art. She is the 2013 recipient of USM's Junior Faculty Teaching Award. Her recent publications include: “Myth and Mimetic Failure in Ishiguro’s The Remains of the Day” forthcoming in Contemporary Literature (Fall 2013); “An Opposite Force’s Breath: Medium-boundedness, Poetry and Painting in Frank O’Hara” in New York School Collaborations: The Color of Vowels, ed. Mark Silverberg (Palgrave/Macmillan) 2013; “Space, the Self and Singular in Le Corbusier and Christopher Isherwood,” Literary Imagination, Oxford UP (Spring 2012); “Desperately Seeking Singularity in Franny and Zooey,” LIT: Literature Interpretation Theory, Special Issue on J. D. Salinger. Routledge (2011) 59-77.



Anne Sanow

Anne SanowAnne Sanow is the author of the story collection Triple Time, winner of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize and the PEN/New England Award for Fiction and a finalist for the Massachusetts Book Award. Her stories have appeared in publications including Dossier, Kenyon Review, The Collagist, Conjunctions, and the Chicago Tribune, which awarded her the Nelson Algren Award for the Short Story in 2009. Other awards include fellowships from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, the MacDowell Colony, and the National Endowment for the Arts.