Skip navigation

Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life

Who We Are

Fraternity and Sorority Life at Southern Miss is home to three student governing bodies: the College Panhellenic Council (CPC), the Interfraternity Council (IFC) and the National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC). Fraternity and Sorority Life supports its members by promoting personal growth and intellectual development and providing members with connections that will last throughout college and beyond. 
Click on one of the icons below to learn about each council.






What is NPHC?
The National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) was established in 1930 at Howard University as a national coordinating body for the nine historically African American fraternities and sororities which had evolved on American college and university campuses. Blatant racism prevented many African American students on historically white campuses from joining fraternities and sororities. African Americans were denied admittance to large numbers of campuses which still prohibited blacks from attending. Therefore, African American students on both types of campuses established fraternities and sororities to enhance their college experiences. These organizations did not then nor do they now restrict membership to African Americans.

What is IFC?
The Interfraternity Council (IFC) is the governing body for local chapters of the national fraternity organizations specifically associated with the North American Interfraternity Conference (NIC).  To join a chapter at the University of Southern Mississippi, you must have a 2.5 cumulative high school or community college GPA. If you fall below this requirement, you can send in a grade appeal to the Interfraternity Council and your potential membership in a chapter will be decided by the IFC executive board. The IFC requires a $30 recruitment registration fee and a $50 bid signing fee. 
IFC governing documents are below:
IFC Judicial Complaint Form

The College Panhellenic Council (CPC) at Southern Miss is the governing body for the eight National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) sororities on campus. CPC is responsible for setting all policies and regulations that concern our sorority community. The council is made up of eight executive board members, the eight chapter presidents, and one voting representative from each sorority (Panhellenic Delegate). CPC coordinates events on campus including educational programs/speakers, community service projects, and formal recruitment.

CPC governing documents are below:

CPC Bylaws

Join our Fraternity & Sorority Life Community

Contact Us

Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life
R.C. Cook Union
118 College Drive #5008
Hattiesburg Campus


10AM-5PM, M-Th, available by phone, email, and zoom meetings. 

Student Hours:       

12PM - 2PM every Friday.

Campus Map