Graduate Student Senate

The purpose of the Graduate Student Senate (GSS) is to provide the student perspective to the dean of the Graduate School who serves as its official adviser. It is a voice for all graduate students and an advocate for their concerns and ideas concerning graduate education and graduate students at The University of Southern Mississippi. The Senate is composed of a representative from each department or school nominated by the chair or director.


graduate student stenate officers

Corey Bradberry (recorder), Alisha Sink (president) and Vivian McLain (vice president)Dhiren Rachamallu, Tracy Barnett Not pictured: Willie Tubbs (chair), Kevin Bryant and Emily Alford

graduate student senate symposium committee

Shea Gibson, Samantha Wells,
Richard Cooke, Dexter Dean and
Stefany Walley (chair)
Not pictured: Beverly Howard and
Kristi Carnahan (co-chair) 

Jobina Khoo, Kristen Adams,
Brian Golden, Rachel Young and
Jess Whatley (chair)  
Graduate Student Senate 2016 
Accounting - Hayden Putnam
Anthropology and Sociology - Kristi Carnahan
Biological Sciences - Joshua Hubbell
Business - Emily Alford
Chemistry and Biochemistry - Dexter Dean
Child and Family Studies - Rachel Young
Coastal Sciences - Elizabeth Jones
Communication Studies - Kevin Bryant
Computing - Dhiren Rachamallu
Construction - Jubaer Ahmed
Criminal Justice - Caroline Jalain
Curriculum, Instruction and Special Education - Jobina Khoo
Economic Development, Tourism and Sports Management - Stefany Walley
Educational Research and Administration - Shea Gibson
English - Hunter Joplin
Foreign Languages and Literatures - Estefania Nunez Cantero
Geography and Geology
- Daniel Winkler
History - Tracy Barnett
Human Capital Development - Courtney Lange
Kinesiology - Alisha Sink
Library and Information Science - Carlie Burkett
Marine Science - Antonio Pliru
Mass Communication and Journalism - Willie Tubbs
Mathematics - Vivian McLain
Medical Laboratory Science - Beverly Howard
Music - Brian Golden
Nursing - Joshua Thompson
Nutrition and Food Systems - Kristen Adams
Physics and Astronomy - Chase Wilson
Political Science and International Affairs - Kristopher Pigg
Polymer Science - Richard "Hunter" Cooke
Psychology - Jinhao Chi
Public Health - Samantha Wells
Science and Mathematics Education - Kendrick Buford
Social Work
- Jess Whatley
Speech and Hearing Sciences - Alexa Chisolm
Theatre - Corey Bradberry