Scholars Bowl

Scholars Bowl

Wednesday, February 26, 2014
Fleming Education Center
Gulf Park Campus, Long Beach

The Scholars Bowl is an academic competition pitting one team against another.  Teams are comprised of students and at least one (1) faculty or staff member.  Collegiate teams from South Mississippi will compete throughout the day in 30-minute trivia matches, until the final two teams compete for the coveted Golden Eagle trophy.

Special DOOR PRIZES will be distributed throughout the day!

10:00 a.m. - General Welcome
Dr. Frances Lucas, Vice President

10:00 a.m. – Round 1
Darwin's Devotee's vs. Schrodinger's Cats (MGCCC-Perkinston)

10:30 a.m. – Round 2
Hancock Hurricanes (PRCC-Hancock Center) vs. Sigma Tau Delta Turtles

11:00 a.m. – Round 3
Three Hardy Fools & A Fair Maiden (PRCC-Poplarville)
vs. Gulf Coast Libraries' Reference Rangers

11:30 a.m. – Round 4
TLC vs. House of Government

Noon – Break
Scholars Bowl Luncheon hosted by Dr. Tom Lansford,
will take place from 11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. in the Fleming Education Center*

12:30 p.m. – Special Round
West Harrison High School

1:00 p.m. – Round 5 (Play Off)
Winner of Round 1 vs. Winner of Round 2

1:30 p.m. – Round 6 (Play Off)
Winner of Round 3 vs. Winner of Round 4

2:00 p.m. – Final Round
Winner of Round 5 vs. Winner of Round 6

2:30 p.m. - Awards Ceremony
Dr. Tom Lansford, Professor of Political Science

Scholars Bowl Rules & Registration

  • Scholars_Bowl Rules 2014 (PDF). 
  • Scholars Bowl Team Registration Form:
    Team registration is closed!  Registration is limited to the first 8 teams that meet eligibility requirements.
  • For more information, email


Scholars Bowl Winners

Congratulations to Sigma Tau Delta Turtles for winning 2014 Scholars Bowl! 

The winning team, led by Dr. Damon Franke, associate professor of English at Southern Miss Gulf Coast, included students Marla Cooper, Kyla Grace and Valerie McWilliams. Other members of Sigma Tau Delta, the English honor society, contributed to the team’s win and included the chapter’s president, Crystal Stinson, and society member, Sharon Jasper. 

Click here for more information and the full story.