Skip navigation

Annual LETTERS Day Program Scheduled for Oct. 29 on Hattiesburg Campus

Tue, 10/26/2010 - 11:39am | By: David Tisdale

Outstanding achievement by members of The University of Southern Mississippi faculty will be recognized during the annual Lives Enriched Through Their Endeavors:  Research and Scholarship (LETTERS) Day program Friday, Oct. 29. The event will be held from 8:30 a.m. - 2 p.m., on the Hattiesburg campus in the Thad Cochran Center, Ballrooms I and III.

LETTERS Day honors outstanding researchers, scholars, innovators, and performers among Southern Miss faculty each year. The event showcases faculty scholarship and creative activities across campus through poster presentations, and recognizes recipients of the university's Innovation Awards.

“It's a wonderful way to honor some of the university's prestigious and outstanding faculty members for their research and devotion to expanding knowledge in their respective fields,” said Dr. Sharon Rouse, assistant professor who serves as co-chair of the LETTERS program along with management professor Dr. Sharon Topping.

Dr. Kyna Shelley, chair of the University Research Council (URC) who is assisting with coordination of LETTERS Day, said the event is a unique opportunity to bring together a large and highly diverse group of scholars,

“It's exciting to have faculty from such a wide range of disciplines across campus, including research centers, come together to discuss ideas and publicly recognize the achievements of their colleagues,” she said.

The LETTERS Day schedule, including award recipients and their presentation times, is as follows:

·         8:30 – 9:10 a.m.

Dr. Mohamed E. Elasri, College of Science and Technology Basic Research Award

·         9:15 – 9:55 a.m.  

Dr. Carl P. Qualls, College of Science and Technology, Applied Research Award

·         10:00 – 10:40 a.m.    

Dr. Aimee Thomas, College of Science and Technology, Creative Activity Award

·         10:45 – 11:25 a.m.

Dr. Jerome R. Kolbo, College of Health, Academic Partnerships Award

·         11:30 a.m. - 12:10 p.m.

Dr. Gordon C. Cannon, College of Science and Technology, Lifetime Achievement Award

During an invitation only luncheon, Southern Miss Vice President for Research Dr. Denis Wiesenburg will present and recognize the Innovation Award recipients. The 2010 Graduate Student Award recipients, Joshua Ennen in the Department of Biological Sciences and Guangming Yao in the Department of Mathematics, will also be recognized. Following the luncheon, posters detailing faculty research will be displayed from 1:30 - 2 p.m.

For more information on LETTERS Day, call Dr. Sharon Rouse 601.266.4446.