Skip navigation

Office of Provost Names Faculty Recipients of Research Support, Honors

Tue, 02/14/2012 - 10:34am | By: David Tisdale

The University of Southern Mississippi Office of the Provost recently announced members of its faculty as recipients of various prestigious grants and honors. Excellence in instruction, research, leadership, mentorship, librarianship and service to the university were among the key criteria used in selection of the recipients.

“We're pleased to recognize and reward these members of our faculty who have given so much for the betterment of the university,” said Dr. Denis Wiesenburg, vice president for research and interim provost. “They are outstanding teachers, researchers and leaders.”

Categories, recipients and area they represent include the following:

*Aubrey Keith Lucas and Ellan Ginn Lucas Endowment for Faculty Excellence. Named for Southern Miss President Emeritus Dr. Aubrey Keith Lucas and his wife Ella, this endowment supports and rewards faculty excellence in instruction and research.

*Lynne Boardman, Speech and Hearing
*Jay Dean, Music
*Jiu Ding, Mathematics
*Brian Gearity, Human Performance and Recreation
*Alen Hajnal, Psychology
*Maryann Kyle, Music
*Kelly Lester, Theatre and Dance
*Jennifer Reagan, Biological Sciences
*Virginia Sumrall, Nursing

*Sabbaticals for 2011-2012 Academic Year. Awarded to faculty for professional development and to assist them in achieving promotion in academic rank and enhance professional development and scholarly reputation.

*Douglas Bristol, History
*Sam Bruton, Philosophy and Religion
*David Butler, Political Science, International Development and International Affairs
*Michael DeArmey, Philosophy and Religion
*Jameela Lares, English
*Shadad Naghspour, Political Science, International Development and International Affairs
*Robert Press, Political Science, International Development and International Affairs
*Michael Salda, English

*Randolph Arnau, Psychology
*David Beckett, Biological Sciences

Grand Marshal-Distinguished Professor Award. This award recognizes a senior faculty member for exceptional teaching, research and service. The recipient is recognized and serves as grand marshal at all university commencement ceremonies for one calendar year.

*David Holley, Philosophy and Religion

Higher Education Appreciation Day –Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE): Sponsored by the State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL). The HEADWAE award honors academically talented students and faculty members who promote academic excellence at the state's public and private institutions of higher learning. 

*Andrew Wiest,History

Nominee for IHL Black History Month Educator of the Year:

*Kim LeDuff, School of Mass Communication and Journalism

Faculty Excellence Awards: These awards are made to faculty members with records of exceptional teaching, service and librarianship.

*Librarianship: Jennifer Brannock, University Libraries
*Teaching: Ellen Weinauer, English
*Service: Stacy Reischman Fletcher, Theatre and Dance

Nominees forNational Endowment for the Humanities: NEH grants provide faculty members with the opportunity to pursue research contributing to scholarly knowledge, as well as the public's understanding of the humanities. Nominations are processed through Sponsored Programs Administration. 

*David Cochran, Geography and Geology
*Andrew Haley, History

Summer Grants for the Improvement of Instruction:These grants are awarded to faculty members committed to ongoing development of new and innovative teaching strategies or techniques that ultimately result in the improvement or assessment of student learning.
*John Bishop, Curriculum,Instruction, and Special Education

*Jeff Bowersox, History
*Barry Cumbie, Management and International Business
*Jiu Ding, Mathematics
*Geoffrey Hudson, School of Human Performance and Recreation
*Jennifer Regan, Biological Sciences
*Gallayanee Yaoyuneyong, Marketing and Fashion Merchandising

For more information about these awards and the application process, contact Susie Plymale in the Office of the Provost at susie.plymaleFREEMississippior call 601.266.6579; online visit