Skip navigation

Student Organizations, Leaders Honored Online in Annual Ceremony

Tue, 05/05/2020 - 07:29am | By: Emily Holmes

The University of Southern Mississippi (USM) Office of Leadership and Student Involvement (LSI) celebrated the accomplishments of its nearly 200 registered student organizations and students online through social media for the annual Student Organization Achievement and Recognition (SOAR) Awards ceremony April 23.

These awards highlight stellar student organizations and student leaders each year. Nominations were solicited from the campus community in March, and members of an independent committee served as nomination reviewers.

The award winners include:

Best New Student Organization - Student Center for the Public Trust

Emerging Leader Award - Isabella Brocato, Sexual Assault Prevention Ambassadors

Organization Member of the Year - Jamyiah Stovall, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Organization Officer of the Year - Kaitlyn Birkhoff, Honors College Leadership Council

Organization President of the Year - Jourdan Green, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Advisor of the Year - Sarah Stewart, Honors College Leadership Council

Organization of the Year - Sexual Assault Prevention Ambassadors

LSI introduced two new awards promoting the USM Division of Student Affairs’ vision of developing healthy, connected and learning-focused students and communities. The Connections Award goes to one student and one advisor exhibiting commitment and support in developing a culturally diverse, compassionate and educated university community reflective of inclusive excellence. The Connections Advisor award went to Dr. Adina Green, director of TRIO- Student Support Services; the Connections Student award recipient was Halle Johnson.

“We, like our students, know each and every organization did incredible things this year and we wanted to still be able to acknowledge our award winners for their efforts,” said Emily Holmes, director of the OLSI, who also expressed gratitude to its supporting partners. “We’re proud of our students each and every day, and look forward to celebrating them in person in the future.”

For more information on awards and the Office of Leadership and Student Involvement, visit