Awards & Endowments


NEH Summer Stipends

National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Summer Stipends aid scholars conducting humanities research toward the production of articles, monographs, books, digital materials, archeological site reports, translations, or editions, etc. The stipends provide $6,000 for two consecutive, uninterrupted months of full-time research and writing.

The USM Office of the Provost will supplement an awarded NEH stipend with a variable sum which in combination with the NEH stipend equals the awardee's established summer teaching salary as determined by faculty rank.

Submission Deadline:  The deadline has passed.



Each year the Mississippi Legislature sponsors the HEADWAE (Higher Education Appreciation Day - Working for Academic Excellence) in Jackson, MS. Activities for HEADWAE are coordinated by the Mississippi Association of Colleges and supported by the corporate community.

A faculty member who has exhibited outstanding accomplishments in the areas of research, teaching and service and an outstanding student from each participating member institution of the Mississippi Association of Colleges will be recognized during the HEADWAE events. A Southern Miss university-wide committee recommends an outstanding faculty member to the Provost and President during the fall semester of each year. 

The HEADWAE recipients (one faculty member and one student) from Southern Miss will be recognized by the Mississippi Legislature during the HEADWAE ceremonies in Jackson, MS in February 2018.

Submission Deadline (extended):  October 15, 2018    


IHL Award for Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion

The IHL Award for Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion recognizes a faculty member or a staff member who has demonstrated positive advancement of diversity on campus and within the University community. Each Mississippi IHL university, as well as the University of Mississippi Medical Center and the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry, and Veterinary Medicine, will submit one nomination for consideration of the state award. The state-wide recipient and the other university nominees will be recognized at the IHL Board meeting in February 2019.  Nominations can be submitted by any faculty member, staff member, or student.

DEADLINE (extended):  November 1, 2018   


Summer Grants for the Improvement of Instruction

The Summer Grants for the improvement of instruction (SGII) provide a limited number of faculty each summer with 3-6 hours of reassigned time to devote to creating or revising one or more courses. For the 2019 SGII, the Office of the Provost seeks innovative, creative proposals to revise courses for delivery in multiple session formats.

Submission Deadline: October 29, 2018   


Sabbatical and Leave Requests

All leave requests (e.g., sabbatical leaves and leaves without pay) for the 2019-2020 academic year are due to the Office of the Provost by the deadline listed below.  Applications for all leave requests are submitted to the Office of the Provost from the deans.  Sabbatical leaves are awarded to faculty members for professional improvement and to assist faculty in achieving promotion in academic rank and enhance professional development and scholarly reputation. The awarding of sabbatical leaves is contingent upon available funding.

Submission Deadline:  October 15, 2018.   


Aubrey Keith Lucas and Ella Ginn Lucas Endowment for Faculty Excellence Awards

This endowment was established in honor of Dr. and Mrs. Aubrey K. Lucas to support and reward faculty excellence in instruction and research. In an effort to support faculty, the endowment can be used for travel, laboratory expenses, wages, books, audiovisuals, or other sources. Proposals for the endowment can involve topics as related to instruction and/or research.  A final report is not required.

Submission Deadline: November 5, 2018


Excellence in University Service Award

The "Excellence in University Service Award" is given to a faculty member who has excelled in (non-administrative) service to the university community.  

Submission Deadline:  November 12, 2018   


Excellence in University Teaching Award

The "Excellence in University Teaching Award" recognizes a faculty member with a record of exceptional teaching.  

Submission Deadline:  November 12, 2018 


Excellence in University Librarianship Award

The "Excellence in University Librarianship Award" recognizes a faculty member who has significantly contributed in the practice of librarianship through excellent performance that enhances the dissemination of knowledge and through the advancement of learning.  The Excellence in Librarianship Award is presented every other year (even-numbered years). 

Submission Deadline:  Applications for the 2020 Excellence in University Librarianship Award will be available in the Fall of 2019


Open Textbook Initiative

To support faculty in their efforts to replace traditional commercial textbooks with academically equivalent alternatives that are available at no cost to students.

Submission Deadline:  November 30, 11:59 p.m.


Faculty Senate Junior Faculty Awards

The Junior Faculty Awards were created to recognize outstanding assistant professors early in their careers at Southern Miss. Award categories are for excellence in teaching, creativity, and research. Qualified faculty members may apply for multiple awards but can only receive the award once in any category. If you are applying for more than one Junior Faculty Award, the application materials for each award should be submitted in a separate file. Submit all materials (vita, summary, and letters) for each award in one pdf file.  The awardees will be recognized during the Faculty Awards Ceremony.  

Submission Deadline:  January 28, 2019 


Nina Bell Suggs Endowed Professorship

The Nina Bell Suggs Endowed Professorship was established to recognize an outstanding junior faculty member. Based on available funds, the Suggs Professorship will be awarded annually to a junior faculty (untenured tenure-track assistant professor) for outstanding accomplishment and professional promise. The recipient of the award will use the title “Nina Bell Suggs Professor” until the faculty member is promoted to associate professor or until the faculty member leaves the University. The amount of the professorship is based on the annual spending allocation from the endowment and it will fluctuate from year to year. Should funding not be available, the professorship may not be awarded. 

Submission Deadline:  January 31, 2019