Excellence in University Librarianship Award

The "Excellence in University Librarianship Award" is given to a faculty member who has significantly contributed in the practice of librarianship through excellent performance that enhances the dissemination of knowledge and through the advancement of learning. This award is presented every other year (even-numbered years).  Due date for applications is November 9, 2015.

  • Eligibility: 

Full-time faculty librarians with a minimum of three years experience at USM are eligible. Individuals who receive this award are not eligible for five years, and individuals who have received two awards are ineligible.

  • Supporting Documentation:

Applicants submit the following: 

  1. a vita.
  2. a two-page (single-spaced) narrative describing your philosophy of librarianship.
  3. three letters of support from faculty members or administrators (each letter of support must address the candidate’s university service).  Letters of support may be sent to the Office of the Provost via campus mail to the attention of Cindy Davis or via email to Cynthia.A.Davis@usm.edu.  Please include the name of the applicant.
  • Supporting documentation is due by Monday, November 9, 2015.

Only complete submissions will be considered by the Faculty Senate Awards Committee. Submissions that do not adhere to above guidelines will not be considered. The committee's recommendation will be submitted to the Provost to finalize the process.

Fill out the application here.