Skip navigation

Office of the Provost

Excellence in University Librarianship Award


The "Excellence in University Librarianship Award" is given to a faculty member who has significantly contributed in the practice of librarianship through excellent performance that enhances the dissemination of knowledge and through the advancement of learning. This award is presented every other year (even-numbered years). Applications for the 2020 Excellence in Librarianship Award will be available in the Fall of 2019.


Full-time faculty librarians with a minimum of three years experience at USM are eligible. Individuals who receive this award are not eligible for five years, and individuals who have received two awards are ineligible.

Supporting Documentation

Applicants submit or provide the following:

  1. a vita
  2. a two-page (single-spaced - 1000 words or less) narrative describing your philosophy of librarianship
  3. three letters of support from faculty members or administrators (each letter of support must address the candidate’s university service). Letters of support may be sent to the Office of the Provost via campus mail to the attention of Allison Gillespie or via email to allison.gillespieFREEMississippi. Please include the name of the applicant.
  4. A copy of the school's Promotion and Tenure/Annual Evaluation Guidelines.

Only complete submissions will be considered by the Faculty Senate Awards Committee. Submissions that do not adhere to above guidelines will not be considered. The committee's recommendation will be submitted to the Provost to finalize the process.

Contact Us

Office of the Provost
Lucas Administration Building

Hattiesburg Campus

Campus Map