Faculty Handbook Committee Minutes

May 8, 2023 3:00-5:00 PM Asbury Hall & Microsoft Teams Chair: Jeremy Scott Historian: Lorraine A. Stuart

Committee members attending: Allissa Beck, Subrina Cooper, Trent Gould, Megan Marlowe, Jeremy Scott, Ward Sayre, Lorraine Stuart, Alan Thompson, Lindsay Wright. Mary Funk served as proxy for Marco Wolf.

Gallery attendees: David Beckett, Allison Gillespie, and Jennifer Courts.

The agenda was approved.

The April minutes were approved.

Chair's Report

The Chair asked whether he should attend the September meeting when new officers will be elected. Dr. Alan Thompson replied that it would be helpful to have him open the meeting and preside over the election.

Historian's Report

No report.

Old Business

<u>Proposal 5.8.2 Candidate's Rights to Update Application Materials and Provide Rebuttals</u> The proposal reflecting the change to the remanding procedure passed in a second vote.

Proposal - Broken Links and Office Name Changes

The proposal eliminating broken hyperlinks and updating names of offices and centers passed in a second vote.

Good of the Order

Dr. David Beckett reviewed wording on benefits allotted and the procedure for nominating emeritus faculty. A formal proposal will be submitted next AY. Historian Lorraine Stuart asked several questions about the nomination process.

Next meeting: Monday, September 11, 2023 at 3 pm.

Group One (September 2021 – August 2024), 2024-2027, 2027-2030

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the College of Arts and Sciences – Alan Thompson (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the College of Nursing and Health Professions – **Megan Marlowe** (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the University Libraries - Lorraine Stuart (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Elected member from the Council of Directors - Ward Sayre (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Member of the Faculty Senate (Senate Appointed) - Jeremy Scott

Group Two (September 2019 – August 2022), 2022-2025, 2025-2028, 2028-2031

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the College of Education and Human Sciences – Lindsay Wright (2022-2025)

Present: Voting, At-Large Member of the Gulf Coast Faculty - Allisa Beck (2022-2025)

Present: Voting Elected member from Dean - Dean Trent Gould (2022-2025)

Present: Non-voting Ex-officio the University Counsel: Subrina Cooper (2022-2025)

Gallery Attendance: