# **Faculty Handbook Committee Minutes**

September 11, 2023
3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Asbury Hall 317B and Microsoft Teams
Chair: Jeremy Scott/Lindsay Wright
Historian: Lorraine Stuart/Allisa Beck

Committee members attending: Alan Thompson, Megan Marlowe, Lorraine Stuart, Edgar Simpson, Danilo Mezzadri, Melinda McLelland, Lindsay Wright, Allisa Beck, Trent Gould, Subrina Cooper.

Gallery attendees: David Beckett, Doug Masterson

#### Old Business

Following the introductions of new members, Jeremy Scott reported that all proposals submitted last year had been approved.

#### **New Business**

Jeremy Scott made a call for nominations for officer positions. Alan Thompson moved that Lindsay Wright be elected as chair, which was seconded by Lorraine Stuart and approved. Lindsay Wright nominated Allisa Beck as Historian, which was seconded and approved.

## Good of the Order

There was some discussion about any upcoming proposals on the radar. Alan Thompson spoke of one from Sam Bruton, Melinda McLelland spoke of plans to submit one pertaining to FEC membership, and Lindsay Wright recalled discussion about emeritus status from last year that had not yet been proposed.

The committee also agreed to move the face-to-face meetings to Joseph Greene Hall this year. Teams will remain an option as well.

Next Meeting: October 9, 2023, 3:00 p.m.

### Group One (September 2021 - August 2024), 2024-2027, 2027-2030

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the College of Arts and Sciences - Alan Thompson (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the College of Nursing and Health Professions - Megan Marlowe (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the University Libraries – Lorraine Stuart (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Elected member from the Council of Directors - Edgar Simpson (2021-2024)

Present: Voting, Member of the Faculty Senate (Senate Appointed) – **Danilo Mezzadri** (2021-2024)

## Group Two (September 2022 - August 2025), 2022-2025, 2025-2028, 2028-2031

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the College of Business and Economic Development – **Melinda McLelland** (2022-2025)

Present: Voting, Elected Member of Faculty from the College of Education and Human Sciences - Lindsay Wright (2022-2025)

Present: Voting, At-Large Member of the Gulf Coast Faculty – **Allisa Beck** (2022-2025)

Present: Voting Elected member from Dean – **Dean Trent Gould** (2022-2025)

Present: Non-voting Ex-officio the University Counsel: **Subrina Cooper** (2022-2025)

## **Gallery Attendance:**

Holder