Offices of the Provost

 

Mission of Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Provost is the chief academic officer and the senior university officer next to the President. The Provost is the President’s principal adviser in all matters pertaining to the development and execution of a well-conceived and organized curriculum, administered and taught by a faculty of the highest qualifications. The Provost oversees academic planning and budgeting and works with the Vice Presidents to accomplish the University’s educational objectives.

The mission of the Provost and Senior VPAA’s office is to support and enhance a creative, inclusive, academic environment in which students participating in the university’s diverse teaching, research, and service programs may flourish by acquiring, advancing, and applying knowledge. Along with the Provost, the deans of the colleges of Arts and Letters, Business, Education and Psychology, Health, Honors, Nursing, and Science and Technology; the deans of the University Libraries, Center for Online Learning, Center for Community and Civic Engagement, Institute for Disability Studies, and Graduate Studies; and the Academic Council, Graduate Council, Faculty Senate, and the Council of Chairs provide leadership and support in achieving this mission.

Download Academic Affairs Organizational Chart (6 pages) 

 

Steven R. Moser

Dr. Steven Moser

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
steven.moser@usm.edu
601-266-5002
Administration Bldg, Room 204

Thomas Burke

Dr. Thomas Burke

Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost
thomas.burke@usm.edu
601-266-5020
R.C. Cook Union, Room 211 

Dr. Amy Chasteen Miller

Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
a.c.miller@usm.edu
601-266-6579
Administration Bldg, Room 201

Casey Maugh Funderburk

Dr. Casey Maugh Funderburk

Vice Provost for the Gulf Park Campus
casey.maugh@usm.edu
228-214-3309
Hardy Hall, Room 218
 

 

Dr. Douglas Masterson

Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
douglas.masterson@usm.edu
601-266-4714
International Center, Room 509
 

Daniel Norton

Dr. Daniel Norton

Associate Vice President of International Programs
daniel.norton@usm.edu
601-266-4344
International Center, Room 401

 

Michelle Arrington

Dr. Michelle Arrington

Associate Provost for Institutional Research
michelle.arrington@usm.edu
601-266-6698
International Center, Room 512

Kate Howard

Kate Howard

Assistant Vice President and Dean of Admissions
kate.howard@usm.edu
601-266-5000
Kennard-Washington Hall, Room 212
 

Allison GIllespie

Allison Gillespie

Assistant Provost for Academic Affairs
allison.gillespie@usm.edu
601-266-5002
International Center, Room 509
 

Debby Hill

Debby Hill

Assistant Provost and Director of Academic Scheduling
debby.hill@usm.edu
601-266-6579
Lucas Administration Bldg, Room 201
 

Lashonda Thompson

Lashonda Thompson

Budget Director for Academic Affairs
lashonda.c.thompson@usm.edu
601-266-5844
Administration Bldg, Room 201
 


Bethanie DeFatta

Executive Assistant to the Provost
Bethanie.DeFatta@usm.edu
601-266-5002
Administration Bldg, Room 204
 

 



Christina Foreman

Administrative Assistant to the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Christina.Foreman@usm.edu
601-266-6579
Administration Bldg, Room 201