Offices of the Provost

 

Mission of Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Provost is the chief academic officer and the senior university officer next to the President. The Provost is the President’s principal adviser in all matters pertaining to the development and execution of a well-conceived and organized curriculum, administered and taught by a faculty of the highest qualifications. The Provost oversees academic planning and budgeting and works with the Vice Presidents to accomplish the University’s educational objectives.

The mission of the Provost and Senior VPAA’s office is to support and enhance a creative, inclusive, academic environment in which students participating in the university’s diverse teaching, research, and service programs may flourish by acquiring, advancing, and applying knowledge. Along with the Provost, the Vice President for Research, the Deans of the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business and Economic Development, Education and Human Sciences, Nursing and Health Professions, University Libraries, Graduate School, and Honors College, as well as the faculty governance bodies provide leadership and support in achieving the mission of the University to drive academic excellence and promote scholarly and creative activity.

Faculty governance bodies include the Councils of Academic Excellence, comprised of the Undergraduate Council, Graduate Council, Council of Directors, and the Faculty Senate provide a critical and essential advisory function at the institution, improve communication channels, both to the administration and to the faculty body, and provide leadership in achieving the academic mission. In addition, the Office of Online Learning and the Center for Community Engagement also provide support for faculty efforts to drive academic excellence and promote scholarly and creative activity.

 

Download Academic Affairs Organizational Chart (6 pages) 

 

Dr. Steven Moser

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

steven.moser@usm.edu

601.266.5002

Administration Bldg, Room 204

 

Dr. Dee Dee Anderson

Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost

deedee.anderson@usm.edu

601.266.5020

R.C. Cook Union, Room 211 

Dr. Amy Chasteen Miller

Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

a.c.miller@usm.edu

601.266.6579

Administration Bldg, Room 201

 

Dr. Casey Maugh Funderburk

Vice Provost for the Gulf Park Campus

casey.maugh@usm.edu

228.214.3309

Hardy Hall, Room 218 

 

Dr. Douglas Masterson

Senior Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness

douglas.masterson@usm.edu

601.266.4714

International Center, Room 509

 

Dr. Daniel Norton

Associate Provost of International Programs

daniel.norton@usm.edu

601.266.4344

International Center, Room 401

 

Dr. Michelle Arrington

Associate Provost for Institutional Research

michelle.arrington@usm.edu

601.266.6698

International Center, Room 512

Kate Howard

Assistant Vice President and Dean of Admissions

kate.howard@usm.edu

601.266.5000

Kennard-Washington Hall, Room 212


 

Allison Gillespie

Assistant Provost for Academic Affairs

allison.gillespie@usm.edu

601.266.5002

International Center, Room 509

 

Lashonda Thompson

Budget Director for Academic Affairs

lashonda.c.thompson@usm.edu

601.266.5844

Administration Bldg, Room 201

Bethanie DeFatta

Executive Assistant to the Provost

Bethanie.DeFatta@usm.edu

601.266.5002

Administration Bldg, Room 204

Christina Foreman

Administrative Assistant to the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Christina.Foreman@usm.edu

601.266.6579

Administration Bldg, Room 201